Hearty Hot or Cold Roasted Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
The flavors in this soup are so delicious and heavenly. The only change I would make is to make sure you peel the tomatoes before putting them in the food processor to get rid of the skins and make it smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMEJOHNSTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
I found this to be the best roasted tomato soup recipe I've tried. We doubled the garlic to add additional flavor. We also blended 1/2 the tomatoes/garlic and chopped the other 1/2 to have some chunks in the soup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
It had the taste I was looking for. I used regular tomatoes, not romas. I only used half of the chicken broth because I wanted it thick. I felt if I used the full one quart it would have been too watery and less tast. I also used about 8 or 9 cloves of garlic. Soooo gooood!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I love planting, growing, harvesting and cooking tomatoes...I'm not such a big fan of eating them unless they are perfectly ripe or as spaghetti sauce. I made this strictly because I had bowls of tomatoes - mostly cherry and grape - that needed to be used NOW, and they were just beyond the stage that I would eat them raw. So, I roasted about 5 Roma and two medium beefsteak, cut in wedges, and maybe a pint and a half each of cherry and grape, leaving them whole. Doubled the garlic and when it came time to add broth, just used a cup or so of vegetable stock. I could not believe how delicious this soup is! And despite the fact that I added no cream or milk, it actually looked creamy! I didn't mind the skins, as others had mentioned, as the food processor mulched them up pretty good, but it does have lots of seeds that, unless you're in the mood for a real rustic soup, you may want to strain them out before adding the basil. Tough call though, because if you strain the seeds, you're straining the tomato pulp and pieces of garlic, so I just chose to live with it. Delicious and healthy, and now no garden tomatoes will ever go to waste in my house - Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Excellent recipes. I would recommend adding the broth a bit at time instead of all at once. That way you can control how thick the soup is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This recipe is great! I make this all the time now. It is a light soup so it is not a meal in itself but the roasted garlic and tomato and the basil just taste so fresh. Make sure you roast them till they are browning nicely. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I'm making my second batch in three days. Last time I used less broth, and was out of basil---but every drop was so delicious! We like it warm. Today I'm doubling the recipe and I plan to keep a batch in the fridge & freezer, because it's not only great as it is but this will make a great base for other soups and for sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
The adjective 'hearty' in the title of this recipe is a little misleading. Try 3x tomatoes or 1/3 broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
My "roasted" garlic was charcoal by the time it spent an hour in the oven, and I drastically cut the stock (used more like 2 cups, not 1 quart). Nice flavour, though, and a great way to use up tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
try shaving some good quality parm or romano cheese into the hot soup to help the consistency and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States