Hearty Hot or Cold Roasted Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Very good tomato soup. I also sauted some onions in a few Tablespoons of olive oil. I also added about 1 teaspoon of fresh thyme from my garden and alittle crushed reds for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I tweaked this recipe and made it Old Mother Hubbard style, and it came out super thick. Having only one pound tomatoes,I used the size bigger than cherry, roasted them with the garlic cloves until they began to split, soaked five sun dried tomato halves in some hot broth, and keeping the tomatoes in their skins, I tossed the works into the blender along with 4oz tin of tomato paste. I used the full amount of broth. Added a tbs of garlic soy margarine, and a tbs of pesto. Also, to reduce tomato acidity, I added 1 tsp sugar. And just for variation, I added a cup of aborio rice. My soup is super thick, in fact I had to keep adding more liquid as the aborio cooked in the soup. Amazing. For my daughters lunch tomorrow I plan to add milk, it is soooo thick. Yum :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momdom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
try shaving some good quality parm or romano cheese into the hot soup to help the consistency and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
My "roasted" garlic was charcoal by the time it spent an hour in the oven, and I drastically cut the stock (used more like 2 cups, not 1 quart). Nice flavour, though, and a great way to use up tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This is a great soup. I used less chicken broth when I blended it, and then boiled some pastina in the rest of the broth to add a little more texture. Stirred the two together and it was a winner! Next time I will add Israeli couscous instead of the pastina... Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I dont know what went wrong since I followed the directions exactly. I added several things to try to make it better. I finally threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipes was fantastic! I did use less broth, as recommended but other than that I followed it exactly. It was so fresh and creamy...it went perfectly with my baked grilled cheese (also from this site). I might have to start growing my own tomatoes just so that I have an excuse to keep this around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I'm not a huge fan of tomato soup but this was good. I removed the skins, and used an immersion stick to blend the tomatoes with a couple of cups of the stock. I then added the stock a little at a time until it was the right consistency for us. As always, I used white balsamic vinegar. Nice recipe, Rosa. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I made this soup as directed and it turned out way too thin. I put it in the fridge and roasted another pan of tomatoes the next night, pureed and added them to the thin soup. That helped a bit but it was still a little too thin for me. The taste was great so I will make this again, however I will add the stock a little bit at a time until it reaches desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This is a good soup. I didn't blend it thoroughly for a chunkier result. I also added in 1/2 cup velveeta for a creamy effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States