Hearty Hot or Cold Roasted Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Very good, will definitely make again. I like the roasted taste in the soup, so I'll use this one. Perfect for when basil and tomatoes are still coming, but the weather turns cooler. Made with cheese straws, nice combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is really good on a dreary, rainy day like today. I only had minced garlic so I placed it in foil & added it about 30 minutes in, so it didn't burn. I put it all in my blender because I don't like the tomato skin. I also de-seeded as much as I could. Used celtic salt & a bit of strong dry garlic because I'm a garlic nut. I used a low sodium chicken powder & heated it with a bit of water in the microwave. Eyeballed the broth because I didn't want it thin. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This came out terrible for me. Giving it three stars because it was the first time I had tried to make a soup this way, and others said it came out well for them. I loved the idea of roasting the tomatoes first, but it came out too liquid and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is an excellent soup! I charred my garlic, but, overall it is a very good recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I made this soup as a first course for a group of 60 women and it was a hit! I mostly followed the recipe except I added the cloves, skins and all, to the blender with the tomatoes, and made it the day before then I added chicken stock an hour before when I warmed it up and just enough to give it a good consistency. I will make it again (for myself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Everyone loved this soup! I added onions and roasted them along with the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
The best soup I have eaten! My co-workers are fighting over the leftovers. The combination of the roasted tomatos, basil, garlic and balsamic vinegar gives this simple soup a very sophisticated taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Excellent soup! I used homegrown tomatoes and minced garlic spread over the top with the oil, salt, and pepper. I did peel them before putting them in the processor and to make the soup a little thicker I used a can of cream of ckicken soup instead of the chicken stock. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Very good tomato soup. I also sauted some onions in a few Tablespoons of olive oil. I also added about 1 teaspoon of fresh thyme from my garden and alittle crushed reds for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I tweaked this recipe and made it Old Mother Hubbard style, and it came out super thick. Having only one pound tomatoes,I used the size bigger than cherry, roasted them with the garlic cloves until they began to split, soaked five sun dried tomato halves in some hot broth, and keeping the tomatoes in their skins, I tossed the works into the blender along with 4oz tin of tomato paste. I used the full amount of broth. Added a tbs of garlic soy margarine, and a tbs of pesto. Also, to reduce tomato acidity, I added 1 tsp sugar. And just for variation, I added a cup of aborio rice. My soup is super thick, in fact I had to keep adding more liquid as the aborio cooked in the soup. Amazing. For my daughters lunch tomorrow I plan to add milk, it is soooo thick. Yum :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momdom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States