Hearty Hot Dog Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was very easy and quick to make. It turned out a lot better than i thought it would. I added more chili and cayenne powder though and added some peas and carrots as well as some string beans. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
didn't care for this at all. The recipe tasted too acidic, salty and overly seasoning of spices and the cheese didn't bind well with the whole recipe. Won't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This wasn't bad. I was out of corn, and I didn't have anything else I could throw in. I like the flavor of the soup, though. I had to use shredded cheddar cheese, and ketchup in place of the paste, but otherwise made as is. You'll have to crank the heat up to a low boil in order to properly melt the cheese. Then let it simmer for 5 - 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My family loved it! Never made nor heard of hot dog soup but it came out fantastic! The only negative response i got about it was how spicy it was. Otherwise a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasharenae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
My family didn't care for this:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
used cumin instead of chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Easy enough so that my young daughter could help me make it. She's pretty picky when it comes to soups, but she really likes it! I used just a pinch of sea salt and instead of cayenne pepper, we used red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I love this recipe. But I made a few modifactions; instead of cayenne I highly recommend either chipotle chili powder or a few chipotles in adobo [to taste; depending on the brand, really]. I also add 1/4 c diced bell pepper or a 4oz can green chilis, 1/2 t garlic powder AND a bit of fresh or jarred garlic; again to taste. And definetley use beef or even chicken broth boullion cubes.Disregard the salt requested in this recipe, the taste is much better with the salt from boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIRKUS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This really was a hearty soup. If you're feeding a large family like mine, you would need to double it. I served it with cornbread, and used cheddar cheese instead. Wouldn't be opposed to using parmesean cheese in place of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I made this for dinner tonight. It was good. Next time tho, I will decrease the amount of chili powder because the soup was too spicy for my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLYISRAEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States