Hearty Harvest and Ham Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This was a wonderful and hearty stew. It's a great way to use cabbage and greens. It was simple to make. I don't use caraway a lot, but I loved the flavor it gave to this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Very tasty. I loved the seasonings. They were perfect with the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made this dish last night and absolutely loved it. I had some left over ham, carrots and celery and did a search, found this and sounded yummy...got the rest of the ingedients and turned out just wonderfully. I highly recommend this on a cold chilly night. Good job...thanks so much! Mufffie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Delicious! This recipe is a definite keeper. I usually try recipes the first time as written, but I did have to compromise a few things based on what I had in the house. I used fennel seed instead of caraway seed, turkey ham cubed, a bit more water and 2 small heads of cabbage instead of cabbage and greens. I also added a few bouillon cubes for more flavor. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Used slightly different ingredients, but still great results. My husband looked at me when he was finished and said "Did you say this has cabbage in it?" Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci McLain Wendland
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
We thought it was going to be bland, turned out we wrong. It is not spicy, but, very, very tasty. We really enjoyed it. Serve with a Rye bread for a filling meal. The ham I used was Black Forest-organic. The ham is a big part of this dish. Get the best quality ham you can, you won't regret it. The salt I added was 1/2 tsp. and ground up a bunch of black pepper. It wasn't salty, which I thought it was going to be. All around great recipe-Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made no substitutions. Everyone had seconds and it really sticks to the ribs--thanks for a great way to use up holiday ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I loved this stew because the caraway seeds gave it a unique flavor. Definitely not the same old thing. The veggies were nice and soft for my infant to eat. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mile High Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophie D.
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Was looking for a way to use beet greens. Great recipe! Awesome taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
For starters the taste is exceptional, a really nice blend of taste and textures. I might try cutting the potatoes into big cubes and slow down my cooking just a bit more. Had no problem with the liquid, perhaps the slow cooking style retained more moisture. Used escarole for my green and it contrasted the cabbage rather nicely. Erin Go Bragh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by john szulewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States