Hearty Harvest and Ham Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
My husband loved this, and I was surprised at how flavorful it was without broth. The cabbage and spices really make it nice with the ham. I did not add greens the first time but am adding some to the batch I'm making now. I agree with one reviewer though, you need MUCH more than just 1 cup of water...I just add enough to make sure it's all covered. A keeper in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Heinos
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
We thought it was going to be bland, turned out we wrong. It is not spicy, but, very, very tasty. We really enjoyed it. Serve with a Rye bread for a filling meal. The ham I used was Black Forest-organic. The ham is a big part of this dish. Get the best quality ham you can, you won't regret it. The salt I added was 1/2 tsp. and ground up a bunch of black pepper. It wasn't salty, which I thought it was going to be. All around great recipe-Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
has a good flavor but with all the other ingrecients found that 1c. water was not enough liquid for the end results. You need more like 2-3 cups of liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rex, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Very tasty. I loved the seasonings. They were perfect with the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made this dish last night and absolutely loved it. I had some left over ham, carrots and celery and did a search, found this and sounded yummy...got the rest of the ingedients and turned out just wonderfully. I highly recommend this on a cold chilly night. Good job...thanks so much! Mufffie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
We finally tried this last night, and we loved it! I didn't realize that I didn't have carraway seed until I started making it. To add flavor I put some ground clove in it which I loved but was a bit much for my husband. I'd try less next time. I also took the advise of many and added more liquid & chicken broth (I love Mrs.Knorr's powdered chicken broth seasoning). Will definitely be making this again! **UPDATE** we made this again with the carraway seed and no clove - it was so delicious - one of our favorite recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very flavorful. The ham, cabbage and caraway reminded me of a corned beef flavor. My husband admitted it wasn't appealing to look at. Maybe it would be more appealing if the cabbage and onions were chopped into larger pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is really delicious. All those healthy vegetables and a perfect spice combination result in a very satisfying stew that tastes even better the next day. I probably shouldn't have used red cabbage, however, because the entire meal turned an unappetizing shade of purple! My mistake. It's what I had in the fridge, but I'll stick with green cabbage next time : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This was a wonderful and hearty stew. It's a great way to use cabbage and greens. It was simple to make. I don't use caraway a lot, but I loved the flavor it gave to this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
A quick, flavorful and filling meal. Snowed in one afternoon, I looked to All Recipes to find a dish for the ingredients I had on hand. We were quite happy with this dish, I had to substitute a sweet potato for white and used baby spinach for the greens. We will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States