Hearty Harvest and Ham Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Fixed this for my buddies on a camping trip; came out very sweet and the spinach was not a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I used maple cured ham steak, and the stew turned out with a slight sweet taste which was delightful. I was skeptical about the cabbage AND spinach, but it cooked down, thankfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Really nummy!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
has a good flavor but with all the other ingrecients found that 1c. water was not enough liquid for the end results. You need more like 2-3 cups of liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rex, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Just made this for supper on this cold rainy day with homemade bread and it was wonderful! I used all ingredients the recipe called for but had to add a little more water. Still have spinach & cabbage in the garden so that worked out well. Do not leave out the caraway seed, it really gave it a wonderful flavor. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
We finally tried this last night, and we loved it! I didn't realize that I didn't have carraway seed until I started making it. To add flavor I put some ground clove in it which I loved but was a bit much for my husband. I'd try less next time. I also took the advise of many and added more liquid & chicken broth (I love Mrs.Knorr's powdered chicken broth seasoning). Will definitely be making this again! **UPDATE** we made this again with the carraway seed and no clove - it was so delicious - one of our favorite recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
For starters the taste is exceptional, a really nice blend of taste and textures. I might try cutting the potatoes into big cubes and slow down my cooking just a bit more. Had no problem with the liquid, perhaps the slow cooking style retained more moisture. Used escarole for my green and it contrasted the cabbage rather nicely. Erin Go Bragh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by john szulewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed this stew. I left out the greens and just added a little of the better than bouillon chicken broth to it and served it with some great bread yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
A quick, flavorful and filling meal. Snowed in one afternoon, I looked to All Recipes to find a dish for the ingredients I had on hand. We were quite happy with this dish, I had to substitute a sweet potato for white and used baby spinach for the greens. We will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
What a great Fall dish! Potatoes definitely need to be cut large. I wanted to speed up cooking time so I cut the potatoes a bit smaller and ended up with mashed potato stew BUT the flavor was still fantastic. Love that caraway kick. A definite keeper, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States