Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
very good. easy to make but long cooking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
A little on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I want to love this but thought it was overly acidic (maybe it's the brand I'm using? Hunts?) and processed-tasting. But it's loaded with with good veggies and I love the barley in there. I've made this according to the recipe once and once with the meatball suggestion by Tracy and liked the meatballs better (the texture is much softer, less chewing needed but then there is so much more fat to get out which is annoying later). Definitely great for the fall with a nice hunk of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This is wonderful. I made it exactly as in the recipe except for adding a can of red beans to up the thickness. Served it with fresh french rolls, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I have had a soup like this one before and lost the recipe. It is very easy to prepare, uses ordinary ingredients that most of us have at home already and produces a big pot of hearty soup. I followed the directions carefully and was very satisfied with the result. This recipe can definitely feed a hungry family. I minced my vegetables and also added some larger chunks. I would not hesitate to add anything else that I like: potatoes, peppers, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
overall a really good soup with added flavoring indeed it needed some garlic powder and onion powder and extra minced garlic some pepper i didn't use thyme instead i did a bay leaf and basil it was yummy and i upped the tomato soup to 2 cans and used fresh roma tomatoes cut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alishia Marie Toth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This soup is pretty good. Major benefit is that it is VERY filling with the beef and the barley. When I ate it for lunch (sans anything else), it would keep me full way past dinnertime. I used a small can of tomato paste rater than the condensed tomato soup, which has too many artificial ingredients for my taste. Also, I used 1 lb of ground beef and that was a good ratio against the 1/2 cup barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
very yummy soup..... :) A MUST TRY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Good. Needs a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I was looking for a tasteful, not too citric (v8), beef barley veggie soup. I have tried several recipes and this one is at the top of the list. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States