Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I was looking for a tasteful, not too citric (v8), beef barley veggie soup. I have tried several recipes and this one is at the top of the list. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I thought this hamburger soup was very good. Simple to throw together for an easy dinner with salad and bread. I put this in the crock pot on high for about 5 hrs. I added some cumin, red pepper flakes and 4 beef boulion cubes because like some other reviewers said it was a bit bland. I also added more barley than the recipe called for so I added a little more beef stock. During the last couple hours of cooking I decided to throw in some frozen corn. Adding some extra spices gives it a nice flavor and the extra barley makes it a thick stew-soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I have made this soup three times in the last month now; I am addicted to it! I have made a couple of changes to it, however. I also add 1 lb. of mild sausage (like Bob Evans), I use rice instead of barley (because that's what I have), increase the water a little and add two cans of tomato soup. My family loves this meal; I can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
meh. definitely bland. not exciting at all. ill just stick with vegetable beef stew in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Didn't have barley so added half cup of rice. Pretty tasty on crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This soup was more like a chilli and very bland but for the ingredients it was good. I ended up adding basil, more barley like other reviews suggested and instead of tomatoe soup I used tomatoe paste. My 2 year old daughter loves it so in my eyes it was a success. I gave this a 3 star just because it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this soup exactly as stated in the receipe and it was delicious! It is a tasty, thick, hearty soup great on a cold winter day. It is a keeper. Thanks very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Decent recipe, but there are much better hamburger soups (w/ veggies) on this site. I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I thought this recipe was awesome. It's one of the best soups i have ever made. I did however alter the recipe a bit. Instead of the fresh veggies I used frozen soup veggies. I also used a bit more ground beef. Added some extra salt, pepper, and garlic season per the review of others. It was still wonderful to me. My 8 year old loved it also. We had the soup with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Absolutely delicious, especially on the 2nd day! I made as directed, however had only a 15 oz can diced tomatoes and a 15 oz diced tomatoes with green chilies. Super soup! A bit spicy the first day, but got more mellow the next day. Will make this one over and over again. Thanks for a fabulous, healthy soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States