Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
My Husband absolutely loved this soup. His claim is that it was very close to a beef barley soup his mother always made as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Ummm.... great comfort food. I have been making a similar one for years known as "Hearty Man Soup". The difference: no tomato soup, no barley, no garlic, 1 can beef broth, 3 c. water, and not all the herbs. I don't see the need to cook more than 1 hr. but I am always last minute and am trying to hurry things along. We do biscuits or cornbread with this.... perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I've made it excatly like the recipe and altered. It was very good as is but I think the changes I made make it even better. Boil the beef broth. In a seperate bowl add lean ground meat, 1 egg, 1/4 cup bread crumbs, a pinch of parsley, pepper, thyme. Make mini meatballs (bitesize). Add meatballs to boiling broth. When they float they are done. Add remaining ingredients and ADD 1 CAN TOMATO SAUCE. Simmer for 2 hours. The original recipe lacked presentation. It was something I would make for myself as a comfort food. With the changes I made I would definatly serve to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very good and comforting! I only used 1 pound of hamburger and sauteed the onion and garlic while it cooked. We prefer a chunkier soup so I cut the carrots & celery into bigger pieces instead of mincing them. I also bumped the barely up to 1 full cup. Definitely let the soup simmer for the full amount of time. The flavors really come together then. It does make a thicker soup, but we actually liked it better that way. This is great for cold winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Okay base soup. Use beef broth instead of water. Added fresh onion and garlic to browned ground beef. Also added a handful of peas. I'd recommend adding more barley if you really like barley like me. Omitted bay leaf, tomato soup, and thyme. Used a bit of dried basil. I can see adding beans, or noodles instead of barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is a great soup for a chilly evening or anytime that winter is getting you down. Other reviewers are right on with their comments about being able to add additional barley, other vegetables (sliced mushrooms for instance) and I used additional fresh garlic cloves (minced) and these just added to the great flavor. This recipe is certainly one to keep and keep coming back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDENHAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This makes a LOT. I made it in the crock pot and needed my six quart one. I chunked the veggies instead of mincing them. It simmered all day and made the kitchen smell great. I didn't change any of the ingredients except for a little more ground beef. The family LOVED it. I do wish I had added a bit more barley because I really like it. - Oh - and I used the lower sodium beef broth. I figure it's always easier to add salt later than to take it out if it's too much for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very bland, blah soup. Made exactly as written. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Made this on a cold fall day and the familiy raved about it. The only this I did different was to add two potatoes and as others have said went half again as much barley. Wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made this soup for Friday night dinner and it was excellent. I didn't change the ingredients at all. The only thing I did differently was after browning the ground beef I took it out of the pot and poured out any grease. Then added a little bit of olive oil and sauted the carrots, onion, celery and garlic for about 5 minutes to soften. Then added back in the ground beef and the rest of the ingredients. I love making soups in the fall/winter and this one is a keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States