Hearty Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this on boxing day with leftover Christmas ham and we all thought it was delicious! I sauteed 1/2 cup chopped onion in butter and then made the cream sauce with added white cheddar cheese. In the last 10 minutes in the oven I topped with fried onion topping. I think you could also use potato chip topping. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent recipe!! My picky 3 year old said "Mommy what's this called??" And then he asked that I make it for him again :D What more can a mother ask for!! Thank you so much for the delicious recipe, I didn't alter it a bit and I will most definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
OK, I made this last night for supper. Liked the idea of pre-cooking the potatoes to speed up the process. Didn't like (at all) the parsley. The corn flavor was lost. Next time I'll just made scalloped potatoes and add ham, topped with yellow cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I liked this recipe. I followed Duckball's recommendation and used cayenne and cheddar cheese in the sauce, as well as more onion. I skipped parsley and put minced garlic in with the onion, also. Instead of corn, I used 2 cans of green beans. It turned out nicely. A tasty way to use up ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sidney, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
DIVINE!! I used frozen shredded hashbrowns, frozen corn, more onion (maybe 1/3 cup), and added red & yellow pepper. Oh, I also used medium cheddar cheese (processed cheese = yuck!!) Whole family LOVED it, which rarely happens in our house. This would be great for a brunch casserole with some cinnamon rolls or banana bread!! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanadu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
We have a family with four children and they ALL enjoyed this casserole which is unusual> This is a keeper and leftovers were just as yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Yummy. Tasted good. family enjoyed this one. will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was great with a few modifications. I used a full can of corn (we like corn at my house), frozen shopped green pepper (since I didn't have any fresh), 1/4 cup chopped onion, about 5 red potatoes, a few dashes of cayenne pepper, garlic salt, a can of fire roasted green chillies, 1 cup mexican style cheese, 1/3 cup flour, 1 1/3 cup milk. Then when almost done cooking through, I added some cheddar to the top. I think the green chillies really set it off. Not spicy at all but just enough flavor!!! Very good. Even my "glass half empt"y hubby (lol) said it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Really good recipe.The sauce seemed thick so i added an additional 3/4 cup of milk.It came out like a nice cream soup!More soupy then casseroly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This is really good...as a soup lol. My casserole never thickened up, even after being in the oven almost a hour. Thankfully it's a very tasty soup with crushed saltines over the top. I added in chopped celery, salt and more cheese, as well as left out the parsley. (I didn't have any) Will make this again for my family, but as a Ham Potato Chowder and not as a casserole dish =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States