Hearty Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I made this last Christmas/New Years and thought it was good, but not great. This year, I tweaked it and it is excellent! I cubed 4 small-medium potatoes but only boiled them maybe 9 minutes and then mixed them with the ham, one 11-oz can of mexi-corn, and ½ pkg frozen chopped broccoli. For the sauce, I cooked 1/4 cup chopped onions and two stalks of celery (sliced) in the 1/4 cup butter. To that, I added 1/3 cup of flour, 2 cups of milk, a few good shakes of pepper, maybe ½ tsp of garlic powder and ½ tsp of cayenne. I also added around a cup or so of shredded cheddar to make it a nice tasty cheese sauce. I mixed the sauce with the other ingredients, poured into a greased 9x13 dish, and topped with another 1½ cups of cheddar. Awesome! Thanks again, Lindysue! I've found the way to prepare it for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Much better if you use 1/4 cup chopped onion, 1/4 tsp minced garlic, and 1 Tsp Spicy Season All and saute with the parsley and 1/2 Tsp marjoram in the butter before adding the flour and milk. Also add 1/2 cup melted Velveetta cheese after you add the above said mixture to the ham, potatoes, and corn. I tossed everything in the casserole dish 1/2 way through cooking then added 1 cup of shredded cheese to the top of the casserole. Turned out just wonderful!! I used quite a bit more pepper than the recipe called for, but WOW what a dish! WHole family loved it! Don't be fooled with the spicy season all. It won't make the dish too spicy or salty. Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This was very good, but would have been better if I had cubed the potatoes and then sauteed them instead of boiling them, and left the skin on. Be sure to use red or yellow potatoes for this, because baking potatoes don't have the right texture, which is important to this dish. Also, try using a can of mexicorn for more color and flavor, and using pepperjack cheese instead of processed cheese. Overall, a good recipe even as is. Hubby asked for seconds (rare even with my good cooking skills).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Very flavorful Casserole! Best I made in a long time. I made this twice now, Once as written which was awesome. Second time I replaced potatos with egg noodles and subsituted peas in place of corn. Great taste either way. Thanks for a wonderful new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Alden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Good recipe! I added garlic to the gravy and blended in some cheddar cheese before baking as well. Used cheddar on top rather than processed cheese. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
This is very good. Especially if you like country gravy-type recipes. I like to use cheddar cheese. Cook all in an iron skillet and then throw that in the oven. One dish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
really good basic recipe, I added a half of a can of french fried onions to the casserole and the other half over top before baking, this gave it texture and flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This was a good recipe similar to one that I've made using canned cream of chicken soup. I like this one MUCH better. The only thing I did differently was add 1 teaspoon granulated chicken boullion and 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt to the sauce and instead of putting the cheese on top I just mixed it right in with the ham and potatoes. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I give this recipe 5 stars for what it is. A casserole is not supposed to be "WOW!" it is supposed to be simple, tasty, & filling and this was all 3..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I made this delicious recipe using totally organic ingredients. Turned out incredible! We followed the advise of some of the posts and used Pepperjack cheese. My mom and I browned the ham and the potatoes before adding the sauce mixture. Then topped it off with graded Cheddar cheese. Very nice casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: El Monte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States