Hearty Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
i really wish there was a was to indicate that a review is massively UN-helpful. i can't for the life of me figure out how the "most helpful critical review" (who basically created her own recipe) ended up with a soupy casserole. the proportions for the sauce as written yield a nice, thick bechamel; in fact, after adding some grated cheddar to the sauce, i had to add more milk and it was still very thick. that being said, the idea of using corn in this was not appealing to me, so i used two boxes of frozen spinach, squeezed dry and chopped (it was roughly equal in volume to the can of corn). i also put some garlic bread crumbs on top, along with the grated cheddar, for a nice crunchy texture. this was very good, and i look forward to having lunch leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alanapapa
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good flavor, but needs a bit more spice. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was excellent! Especially with the added suggestions of several viewers to spice it up to your taste. I made the recipe as is, but added a can of drained, chopped green chiles, and i substituted cheddar and Pepper Jack cheese, even adding some to the sauce, as was recommended (YUM!). For spices, I added All Season Salt, mustard powder, pepper, and paprika. All of these gave it the "kick" this kind of dish needs to satisfy the appetites in my family. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Very good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was easy to make and excellent to taste. My husband loved it and went back for seconds. I made it exactly as the recipe directed except added a 1/4 cup of onions instead of a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This had very little flavor, even after adjusting per some of the top comments. It was a good way to use up some leftover ham, but that is about it. Lots of room for improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
My family of 6 ate this up. I'd definately make it again, but would add more seasoning to it for flavor. Be sure to get the flour/milk mixture thick in the pan, cause it doesn't thinken up in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hburch06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Remington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I googled "what to make with left over ham" and came upon this recipe! It won me over because I had all the listed ingrediants on hand! My husband can't stand the term "casserole"...so I was hesitant with him - BUT it was a big hit! and my 11 year old son, ate probably 3 helpings of it! I've saved this one! next time, it won't be for the left over ham, but for the ham originally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
My family loved this. I forgot to put in parsley and used cheddar cheese instead of the process cheese spread and it still turned out amazing!! I baked mine in a basic 2 quart casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Use cheese - no cheese soup, no substitute - it needs it for flavor/taste. Good. Very similar to other 'ham casserole' recipes listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States