Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was an awesome chowder! i used Tilapia (cheaper) instead and it was sooo good. My whole family raved! I thought it needed a lil more flavor so I added some parsley and more salt and it was de-lish. It was actually better the next day cuz all the flavors had gotten richer over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I used cod rather thn halibut (availabilty dictated this), and evaporated milk rather than milk and cream, a lower fat subsitute I often use in chowders that does not sacrifice smoothness. Turned the heat up with a bit of extra crushed pepper in consideration of some family members. Used red skin potatoes unpeeled and fresh parsley so the colors were lovely. Yummy! I can see this being a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My family loves this recipe. I did not add the pepper flakes because I have small kids who can't handle spicy stuff. This was a great way to use up the halibut my husband caught in Alaska last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Delicious! My dad made this a long time ago and he shredded the carrots, so I was quite pleased that I found this recipe on allrecipes. I didn't have the heavy cream on hand, but I thickened the soup with corn starch and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Delicious! I followed the recipe, other than using tilapia instead of halibut (much cheaper!). It is a great chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was my first attempt at fish chowder and it turned out great! I did not modify the ingredient list at all although I did use only half the amount of fish and only 1 litre of broth (because I only had a pound of fish and a litre of broth!). It is a very good recipe and I think I may change a few things next time like add some celery or maybe corn or different fish or...... but it is just great how it is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Awesome. So very good. Replaced all liquid with heavy cream. Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good recipe. I go to Alaska every year and bring home fresh halibut; this was a good alternative to the other cooking methods I know. Rather than adding the cheese before serving, I allowed each person to add their desired amount of shredded cheese and red pepper flakes. I also added lime tortilla chips on top which went very well. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Wonderful recipe. Company worthy. I substituted milk for cream and added a few teaspoons for corn starch to thicken it. I also did not use pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faina Shpiler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This recipe is GREAT. My husband as cancer and all he wants is soup or chowder. He can't get enough of this chowder. For a cancer patient to eat a lot, I think that is saying a lot for the recipe. I made just like the recipe calls for except I used Cod couldn't fine Halibut and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States