Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My family loves this recipe. I did not add the pepper flakes because I have small kids who can't handle spicy stuff. This was a great way to use up the halibut my husband caught in Alaska last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Awesome. So very good. Replaced all liquid with heavy cream. Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Delicious! My dad made this a long time ago and he shredded the carrots, so I was quite pleased that I found this recipe on allrecipes. I didn't have the heavy cream on hand, but I thickened the soup with corn starch and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Delicious! I followed the recipe, other than using tilapia instead of halibut (much cheaper!). It is a great chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good recipe. I go to Alaska every year and bring home fresh halibut; this was a good alternative to the other cooking methods I know. Rather than adding the cheese before serving, I allowed each person to add their desired amount of shredded cheese and red pepper flakes. I also added lime tortilla chips on top which went very well. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was an awesome chowder! i used Tilapia (cheaper) instead and it was sooo good. My whole family raved! I thought it needed a lil more flavor so I added some parsley and more salt and it was de-lish. It was actually better the next day cuz all the flavors had gotten richer over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Wonderful recipe. Company worthy. I substituted milk for cream and added a few teaspoons for corn starch to thicken it. I also did not use pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuceeSprouts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Good Recipe; the addition of cream is a good twist. Warmed up the umteenth time, the chowder gets better and better. I can't leave well enough alone, so, after trying the recipe as printed, my next batch, as with many halibut soup or chowder recipes, I induce a few more ingredients, i.e. I've added 4 cups of sliced mushrooms several minutes after adding the potatoes. And to thicken the chowder a bit, I add corn starch as metioned in other reviews. You can't hardly hurt this recipe. My next batch of chowder, I'll also add some chopped celery; this always goes good with halibut soups and chowders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was great! Next time I will add a little more red pepper since my husband likes his food spicy. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This soup is really good, but lacks a bit of punch. I will try the suggestion to add the seafood seasoning next time. I pureed the soup before adding the milk/cream/fish and also added corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States