Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I had friends visiting from back East and they said this was the best chowder they have ever had. I added fresh salmon to it also, this is an awesome recipe. Thanks so much! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Fantastic! I've never made a fish chowder before and was skeptical as to the taste. Delicious! I did tweak the recipe just a smidgen. I used evaporated milk instead of the milk and heavy cream and chicken soup base instead of the broth. Other than those changes it's a keeper the way it's written. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gran Torino
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
THE best halibut chowder ever! I thought the ingredients were too simple and one, weird, but fought the urge to change the recipe. It made sense when I ate it. Anything else would have robbed the halibut of its flavor. Served it with my auntie's buckskin bread and was in HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gran Torino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neah Bay, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Our favorite fish is halibut and we really liked this recipe. It was a good soup to have for dinner on a winters night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe whether you follow the directios exactly or have to modify it when you don't have all the ingredients or not enough of an ingredient. I am a cook for seniors in their homes and they all rave about it .The recipe is slightly different each time as they dont all have all the stuff . Sometimes no cheese,sometimes not enough potato,sometimes less fish ! Its all great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe! My mother made it and gave us some leftovers. My husband liked it so much he had me call my mom and ask for the recipe. We love it. We have also had it with Sole - a fish with a similar texture to halibut and cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was my first attempt at fish chowder and it turned out great! I did not modify the ingredient list at all although I did use only half the amount of fish and only 1 litre of broth (because I only had a pound of fish and a litre of broth!). It is a very good recipe and I think I may change a few things next time like add some celery or maybe corn or different fish or...... but it is just great how it is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This recipe is GREAT. My husband as cancer and all he wants is soup or chowder. He can't get enough of this chowder. For a cancer patient to eat a lot, I think that is saying a lot for the recipe. I made just like the recipe calls for except I used Cod couldn't fine Halibut and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I used cod rather thn halibut (availabilty dictated this), and evaporated milk rather than milk and cream, a lower fat subsitute I often use in chowders that does not sacrifice smoothness. Turned the heat up with a bit of extra crushed pepper in consideration of some family members. Used red skin potatoes unpeeled and fresh parsley so the colors were lovely. Yummy! I can see this being a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This soup is really good, but lacks a bit of punch. I will try the suggestion to add the seafood seasoning next time. I pureed the soup before adding the milk/cream/fish and also added corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States