Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Used less cream and more cheese but was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdean509

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
we had to double the recipe because of our family size. I added bacon and cooked it with the onion for a wonderful chowder flavor. I also added parsley at the end. Oh, and since I live in Alaska, I had scallops on hand so added those in as well. Thank you for the wonderful recipe to build on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KREYES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I used a mixture of sand bass, catfish and perch. I am another that has added some extras. This chowder turned out very good. After adding the chicken stock I only added 1 cup of skim milk. I did not add the cream at all. When the fish was finished cooking at the end of the recipe, I added flaked mashed potatoes to thicken the broth. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very tasty and light! I added some scallops, used tilapia and evaporated skim milk light the other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
We live in Northern BC and have been catching halibut for years. We were looking for a new way to cook halibut. This recipe was awesome. Everyone in the family loved it, including the 8 year old picky eater that doesnt eat anything new. Served it with warm buttered sourdough bread. Perfect recipe dont change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUGWUMP6970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made this recipe with some halibut that we brought home from Alaska and the only thing I changed was that I used some Tony Cahcere's seasoning instead of the salt and crushed red peppers. My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe and I will be making it again. For just the two of us next time I will cut the ingredients in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
WOW! this was really good! I did have to simmer it for a little while longer, I prefer my chowders to be thicker. Next time I may try it with a smidge of white wine and a little more heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I'm sure this still would have been a 5 star without the changes I made, but I did make some revisions to fit our tastes and to decrease fat/calories even more, as this is already a fairly light chowder. I used cod (about a 1/3 of the price) and the flavor was still great. I also used a couple extra pototoes and pureed them after they got a bit soft to help create a thicker consistency. I replaced the tomatoes with a can of corn, used 1 cup of skim milk, and about 1/2 of a 14 oz can of reduced fat evaporated milk. In addition to the fish, I added a can of minced clams, reserving the clam juice. I mixed the clam juice with about 3-4 Tbsp of cornstarch and that really thickened the chowder nicely. I shook in a good amount of salt and pepper and also added a little Old Bay and cayenne. With the richness of this chowder the way I prepared it, it's hard to believe there is only about 3-4 grams of fat per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Green Jeanne
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This soup was superb. The flavor complimented the halibut without masking or altering the natural, delicate taste of the fish. I too substituted evaporated milk for the heavy cream as some ingredients are very difficult to come by where I live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green Jeanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Great Halibut application. I thought I had stewed tomatoes on hand, but didn't so I left them out. I also added a bay leaf and thyme (but next time I would only use fresh thyme, so I could remove it) with the chicken stock. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States