Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Excellent! I added fresh bacon crumbles and it added the perfect extra taste. The only problem I had was the way that my stomach felt afterwards...this might sound weird, but it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDavenport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I like this because it doesn't taste fishy. Hubs liked it, too. Had to compromise because of what I had on hand and incorporated previous reveiws. My only changes were: added three slices torn up pancetta (didn't have bacon) no potatoes! - added al dente pasta added Tilapia No creme on hand - thickened with 3 tsp cornstarch and 2 Tbls water Delicious. Will make again with all on hand. Thx for giving me confidence with a fish recipe.....not fishy at all......yummy. I'm going to have another bowl now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is a great basic recipe that lends itself to individual tweaking. I made it as listed and it was very good. It's a terrific way to use up that frozen halibut. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Hope Hard Wilkens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Used less cream and more cheese but was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdean509

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
we had to double the recipe because of our family size. I added bacon and cooked it with the onion for a wonderful chowder flavor. I also added parsley at the end. Oh, and since I live in Alaska, I had scallops on hand so added those in as well. Thank you for the wonderful recipe to build on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBARTNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I used a mixture of sand bass, catfish and perch. I am another that has added some extras. This chowder turned out very good. After adding the chicken stock I only added 1 cup of skim milk. I did not add the cream at all. When the fish was finished cooking at the end of the recipe, I added flaked mashed potatoes to thicken the broth. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very tasty and light! I added some scallops, used tilapia and evaporated skim milk light the other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
We live in Northern BC and have been catching halibut for years. We were looking for a new way to cook halibut. This recipe was awesome. Everyone in the family loved it, including the 8 year old picky eater that doesnt eat anything new. Served it with warm buttered sourdough bread. Perfect recipe dont change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUGWUMP6970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made this recipe with some halibut that we brought home from Alaska and the only thing I changed was that I used some Tony Cahcere's seasoning instead of the salt and crushed red peppers. My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe and I will be making it again. For just the two of us next time I will cut the ingredients in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
WOW! this was really good! I did have to simmer it for a little while longer, I prefer my chowders to be thicker. Next time I may try it with a smidge of white wine and a little more heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States