Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very nice. Did add Celery Salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very tasty , I love this soup ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
exceptionally tasty; the whole family liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Münster, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe, so easy to make, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
First, let me say that this makes a LOT of soup. The first time I made it exactly as written - VERY GOOD, but I didn't care for the tomatoes. Last night I made this for the 2ncd time w/these changes; Divided all ingredients by half. Substituted cream corn for tomatoes & added 1/2 tsp minced garlic & 1 TBSP of flour to onions. This soup was creamier & richer...Hubby said best fish chowder ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
AMAZING!!!! We cant wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was pretty good, but I changed it a lot. I used tilapia because it was much cheaper, but I'm sure this would have been much better with the halibut. I also used 1 cup skim milk and 1 cup heavy cream. Added a box of frozen corn (which was a great addition) and some fresh crabmeat (which was a waste because the crab was overwhelmed by everything else). I used the food processor to hack up some baby carrots and didn't add any cheese. Sprinkled in some Old Bay seasoning, but next time I will experiment with some more herbs and definitely season the fish before adding it to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
The red pepper flakes really add a extra kick! My husband made this for dinner tonight and it was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Excellent! I added fresh bacon crumbles and it added the perfect extra taste. The only problem I had was the way that my stomach felt afterwards...this might sound weird, but it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDavenport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I like this because it doesn't taste fishy. Hubs liked it, too. Had to compromise because of what I had on hand and incorporated previous reveiws. My only changes were: added three slices torn up pancetta (didn't have bacon) no potatoes! - added al dente pasta added Tilapia No creme on hand - thickened with 3 tsp cornstarch and 2 Tbls water Delicious. Will make again with all on hand. Thx for giving me confidence with a fish recipe.....not fishy at all......yummy. I'm going to have another bowl now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States