Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Tried this recipe with leftover halibut and it was absolutely wonderful !! We love garlic, so increased the recipe to 6 cloves and added a cup of chopped celery & shredded cabbage..... A REAL KEEPER !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
We wondered about the lack of spices and herbs but it turned out excellent with a lot of flavour. We followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Used fresh caught rockfish. Diced carrots, upped cheese, red pepper flakes and heavy cream. Add cream AFTER fish is cooked, milk/cream curdled. Adding milk AFTER fish cooked would have made it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This is pretty yummy. Added a little cooking wine after sauteing the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Henning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
The soup was sweet and the vegetables were good in it, but it was a bit bland and very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very awesome only changes I made was I took some of the soup out and then added flour to make a thickener then when thick and bubbly added it back to the chowder then let it cook on low heat for another 30 min. I also added celery. Awesome chowder I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Marquardt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
A warm, cheesy and spicy chowder. Comfort food doesn't get any better than this! The first time I tried this recipe I ate together with a person who wasn't very hungry, so she left a big amount of her plate. I was like "Excellent! more for me!" so I ended up eating three whole servings of this magnificent chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I used 2% milk and a small can of carnation cream. I forgot the cheese and found it was very good even so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was good but not amazing. It was easy to make and everyone enjoyed it. My biggest complaint is that it doesn't feel like a chowder to me, more of a chunky soup. If I make it again I will follow some of the reviewers suggestions and thicken it with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was excellent. I added corn which I think makes it! Also, I get the canned tomatoes with the green chillies. It give the chowder extra kick and goes well with the sweetness of the corn and fish. I use cod which holds up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States