Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I left out the tomatoes and added a can of niblets corn including the liquid. I added 1 tsp of Bay seasoning. I used a can of evaporated milk and 3.25 % milk and I added a bit of gourmet curry powder. At the end is added some chopped up peppers. I also added a bit if thyme. I also used grated extra old cheddar cheese - about 2/3 of a cup. Instinct led me to make those adjustment and it ended up being a fabulous large pot of soup which pleased everyone. I kept the potatoes and carrots chunky and sautéed the onions before doing anything. Everyone loved it! Hope you try it Tyson. Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Ok I was loving it until I added the shredded cheddar, and then DISASTER STRUCK! I had tasted the broth, followed all instructions (except left out the tomatoes), loved the taste, but when I stirred in the shredded cheddar, the whole thing CURDLED! Yikes - it must have been too hot??? I ate a bowl but if I would have had guests, could not have served it. This recipe needs to contain more detail about cooling the chowder before adding the cheddar??? It was delicious with the carrots & red pepper, a very distinctive taste. Not so good after it curdled, however. Not sure what the cheese added to this recipe. Also, the halibut cubes should be smaller than shown for fish wimps - halibut's a pretty strong taste and maybe best in little doses? I would also throw in a bit of chopped celery if trying it again, which I will. Sans cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
It is a good start for a base but like others have said, put your own flare on it. I did thicken mine so it was more chowder like. Also used an Asian chili/tomato paste instead of canned tomatoes as well as more halibut and carrots. I like heat so I spiced it up a bit more, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was very good way to use up left over Hallibut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Good soup. Could use a variety of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Made a few changes & substitutions & it worked out GREAT! I used 3 potatoes instead two-- ooh I know, I know living dangerously! Used 4 cups of chicken stock instead of 6 (yup I'm a rebel) I used can of corn instead of tomatoes & used a giant can of costco clams, drained (did save 1 cup of clam of juice which I mixed with corn starch for a thickening agent). Did not use heavy whipping cream instead used 1cup of NF milk. Didn't have carrots on hand so used mushrooms & bell peppers. I added the clams & the halibut the last 10-12 mins of cooking & it was perfect. Thanks Nicole Burdelle's review..I got the idea of clams & corn from her. You gotta make this, it's THE BOMB!! Next time I make it I will use salmon in place of halibut just to try it out :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is an awesome dish. I adjusted a few things- used cod instead of halibut and evaporated milk instead of heavy cream and milk and seafood broth instead of chicken broth. I also added shrimp, celery, creamy corn, some hot sauce and herb and garlic spices. Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Petty tasteless and disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I am a chef on a yacht and made this for lunch today. In 2 months of cooking on this boat, this is the most loved meal I have made. The owner's quote....."exceptional". I halved the recipe and used two prosciutto-wrapped halibut fillets left over from the night before. Just chunked them up and added them toward the end (the prosciutto was a nice touch!). It easily fed 5 hungry people. I pretty much stuck to the recipe, though I did add a can of corn and thickened it up just slightly with a tsp of cornstarch. I have been requested to make this whenever guests are on board now. Thanks so much for posting this. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Had some fresh Alaskan Halibut giving to me and I needed a recipe. I don't know much about cooking so I went online and found this recipe. Super easy to make ya just follow the directions. I loved it and I must have gotten it right cause my wife loved it as well. Must be a 5 star recipe for me to get it right on the first try. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States