Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Like some of the other reviewers, I used cod ($3/lb) instead halibut ($13/lb), but other than that the only change I made was to add a few dashes of Old Bay seasoning. I really liked the result; creamy and rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Delicious! Even my husband, who says he hates halibut, enjoyed this dish. All of my children went back for seconds. My only complaint was more a personal issue. I shouldn't have cooked it for so long, because the halibut got a little bit tough. However, that made it a very meaty stew, so I don't think anybody minded. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Goorchenko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
WOW! This was my first fish chowder/soup, and this stuff was awesome!! I did make a few minor changes, I halved the recipe, I also used cod instead of halibut, I also used 1 can of cream corn in place of the tomatoes. When this soup is finished the broth tastes amazing. I cannot wait to see how it taste tomorrow, after the flavors have had a chance to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Excellent recipe/easy to revise to your own needs; I doubled the butter, added 2Tbsp flour to the butter & onions, used 2lbs walleye instead of halibut, only added 4 cups chicken stock, sub'd cream corn for the tomatoes and used 1cup heavy cream - no milk. My family likes thick soup/chowder, and this was very thick (I might add a cup of milk next time...) It was sweet, savory and scrumptious! Even my son, who H-A-T-E-S fish of any kind, ate it! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Love this recipe, so easy to make and it tastes great without getting that "fishy" flavour. I added about 1/2 tsp. of Old Bay spice, 1 tbsp. of dill and 3 celerys. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amytee
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Best chowder recipe out there! We've used halibut & ling cod, both, and it's silky & delicious. Addition of corn is a great add-in I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Exceptional. I added bell peppers, corn, and jalapeño peppers, and used whiting fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
My daughter brought me back halibut pieces from Ahousat (a small Native community on Flores Island, not too far from Tofino, BC) & I needed a recipe - this worked out perfectly! This recipe is wonderful! I added fresh basil & dill (couple tbsp each), some sliced fresh mushrooms & some chopped celery. I didn't have any stewed tomatoes so I used 8 oz of crushed tomatoes. I used Lactose Free Half & Half cream. I wish I had read the reviews first & had blended the potatoes to make the soup thicker more like chowder, but that's my only complaint (I'll do that next time). I also had a few tbsp of sour cream that needed to be used up so I threw that in the soup too. The soup goes really well with Rye bread toast. :D BTW, I'm not usually a fan of tomato based chowders but this recipe changed my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe. More like a soup than a chowder though. I followed the recipe, but substituted regular milk for the cream to reduce the fat and used a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes in lieu of the stewed tomatoes. Don't let the lack of spices dissuade you - the flavor is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Yum really good! Pretty easy to make. I added old bay and clams in addition to the halibut. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States