Hearty Garlic Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This soup was very filling and had good flavor. I used turkey sausage instead of regular and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
family loved it. halved the recipe, added cheese and bacon when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Overall this is a good recipe but if I had followed this exactly I think it would have been way too thin. The flavour is very nice though and a soup I will make again. I used chorizo which went really well with the potato flavour. I added water up to where I had veggies in the pot as per the recipe but then there was no room for the milk so I just didn't add it in. The soup was delicious without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I make this recipe for a group of around 40 to 50 employees who work in a cold meat packing company. Everyone loves it! When I make it at home I use Jennie-O Turkey sausage and skim milk to cut calories. Simple and Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
By itself it is bland. I added rosemary, thyme, garlic salt and probably quadrupled the garlic...and it still could of used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarHammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TARAB1
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was just amazing! First of all - I LOVE garlic and I added an entire head of garlic and it still didn't taste overly "garlicky". I put in about a pound of sausage and I didn't drain the grease from the sausage. I just added it to the soup. Other than that, I followed the recipe. It was so delicious. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I made this last week because I was getting a sore throat and needed some comfort food. THIS WAS PERFECT. I used hot italian sausage and it added some kick. It made so much, I took it to a football watch party the next day - added a little more milk because it had thickened - HUGE HIT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Next time layer the seasoning on each different section. Needs a lot more seasoning for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestixy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islamorada, Florida, USA
Living In: Erlangen, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Not quite hearty enough. To soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Loved it! Never made a cream soup before and it was so easy. Even my children loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States