Hearty Garlic Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This soup was very filling and had good flavor. I used turkey sausage instead of regular and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
family loved it. halved the recipe, added cheese and bacon when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Overall this is a good recipe but if I had followed this exactly I think it would have been way too thin. The flavour is very nice though and a soup I will make again. I used chorizo which went really well with the potato flavour. I added water up to where I had veggies in the pot as per the recipe but then there was no room for the milk so I just didn't add it in. The soup was delicious without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I make this recipe for a group of around 40 to 50 employees who work in a cold meat packing company. Everyone loves it! When I make it at home I use Jennie-O Turkey sausage and skim milk to cut calories. Simple and Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
By itself it is bland. I added rosemary, thyme, garlic salt and probably quadrupled the garlic...and it still could of used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarHammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TARAB1
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was just amazing! First of all - I LOVE garlic and I added an entire head of garlic and it still didn't taste overly "garlicky". I put in about a pound of sausage and I didn't drain the grease from the sausage. I just added it to the soup. Other than that, I followed the recipe. It was so delicious. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I made this last week because I was getting a sore throat and needed some comfort food. THIS WAS PERFECT. I used hot italian sausage and it added some kick. It made so much, I took it to a football watch party the next day - added a little more milk because it had thickened - HUGE HIT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Next time layer the seasoning on each different section. Needs a lot more seasoning for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestixy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islamorada, Florida, USA
Living In: Erlangen, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Not quite hearty enough. To soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Loved it! Never made a cream soup before and it was so easy. Even my children loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States