Hearty Garden Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Keyana Medina
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I seasoned and grilled the chicken instead of boiling it. I used extra virgin olive oil instead of butter and I added a little cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Pretty good. I didn't have all the veggies called for, so used a frozen Normandie Vegetable blend, which worked well. I added a cup of water and bullion to the veggies so they would cook in the skillet, tossed in some kielbasa sausage, and baked the chicken instead of boiling. Worked well; it was pretty spicy, although I think that might've been my fault; I think I put in more cayenne than I meant to. Still tasted pretty good, though. I halved this and it was plenty for dinner with enough for a good size serving leftover. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is a great meal to beat the cold with. It will definitely warm you inside and out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was really good. I suggest saving the water/broth and boiling the chicken (with or without the spices - I did it with)and then using that as the liquid. It saves a step and makes a really tasty rice. I also took into account what others said - "it was missing something". Two words - 'shredded cheese' !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I have to agree that this was only ok. It is gorgeous though. Beautiful colors on my red, orange, and yellow dishes.....And then I had some more the next day and it was even better than the first day. Hhhmmm. Who would`ve thought it would get better but it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmydeshon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I also thought that there was something lacking, but it was good. Fit perfectly with the ingredients I had available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
This was pretty good, but it was missing something. I tried adding canned tomatoes,which helped, but didn't make it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Very good dish. Nice flavor. Thought it needed some liquid at the end so added some chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States