Hearty Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I slowly heated 1/2 canola and 1/2 sesame oils then followed the directions and added a few things (sweet pepper and ginger for example. PERFECT!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was a good recipe and quite filling, as noted! I followed as written, though I baked them rather than frying (Frying is not my special gift... LOL!). I made a simple mayo-catsup-seasoning blend to serve as a dip, and they were a hit at a teen get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Egg rolls are fun and delicious. Made as directed, this recipe didn't have enough flavor for my husband and me, but it did get me hooked on trying more egg roll recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
this was a good basic recipie, but I added lots of extras. I added carrots, onions, red peppers, garlic and some ginger. I also mashed the potatoes and used some of the starchy water to help hold everything together. They turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This recipe was so goood!!!It is very close to my grandma`s recipe (and shes Japanese)She doesnt put egg in them and she adds alittle of curry flavoring to them,very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
When it comes to egg rolls I did not find these up to par. My family and I found that the beef/potato ratio against the cabbage was too high. Next time I make these I will halve both the beef and potatoes. We also found them to be quite bland. I will try spicing them up a bit next time, maybe with some ginger or a pinch of wasabi. Something to give them some FLAVOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Kids love theses! Katchup is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I did like this recipe, and enjoyed the finished product, but I didn't rate it 5 stars. I did try to dip this in Asian style sauces, but it did NOT taste like a regular eggroll & the flavors were a little weird together. It basically tasted like an empanada. So, I started dipping it in hot sauce - and THAT I really liked. I didn't add a lot of the soy/salt/pepper "to taste" b/c I worried they would end up too salty tasting in the Asian dipping sauce. (I used duck sauce.) So, when I started using other sauces (particularly mustard & hot sauce), it left the insides a little bland. My family did eat these eggrolls, but next time, we will probably use about half the suggested beef & potato ingredients, but leave the cabbage at 2 cups. My daughter (she's 3) liked them with ketchup. I can understand that, because when you think about it ground beef = hamburger, potatoes = french fries! We could definitely try this again, b/c I did the prepping & eggrolling, and dad did the frying, so it was really more of a family meal than typical sit down dinners. I will add some different seasonings to the filling, though...so the dipping sauce isn't such a requirement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Because of allergies, I had to omit the soy sauce and pepper, but added onion, salt and lots of garlic. (I know it would have been even better with soy sauce!) My husband dipped these in sweet and sour sauce and didn't realize they weren't regular egg rolls and my child who doesn't like egg rolls or cabbage liked them! Had leftover filling, so I fried it like a hamburger patty. I'll make this again. I never would have thought of potatoes... Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States