Hearty Creole Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I'm a huge okra fan but my husband is not so keen on it but he really liked this recipe, so I'll definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This was sooo good! I omitted the butter and salt, and kept the andouille sliced instead of diced. I also used a little less corn (I only had canned), since I'm not a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
i used frozen okra and corn, however, so that was probably the big problem with my attempt at this recipe! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceeleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Growing up in Houston, in an historically Acadiana family :-) , this was one of my favorite dishes as a teenager. We ate it without sausage, served over dirty rice. So, now that I'm a grown up living in Austin with easy access to fresh okra, I was so happy to find this recipe, I was prompted to write my first review! This was excellent -- I've made it twice. Both times without the corn (since I've never eaten it that way before). Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the T the first time -- and it was great! I brought it to work and made my fellow South Louisiana-heritage-turned-Texan coworkers jealous. The second time I skipped the celery, added bell pepper, bay leaves, and garlic. Still awesome! This recipe leaves a lot of room for improvisation while still being delicious. The key: okra and tomatoes. The acid from the tomatoes cuts the okra slime. Other than that, experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smithchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
My family loved this recipe! It definitely makes a lot though. I halved it the second time around and still had plenty of leftovers. Used frozen corn and okra since it was out of season the first time and just easier the second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This was delish! easy to make and hearty enough for a meal in itself! ... And it freezes great too!(although, it didn't stay long in the freezer before being eaten!) loved it! didn't have any issues with slimey okra and I used fresh and frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Loved it. Yummy, and made great leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Good southern recipe! Here's a tip I found on another site to avoid the sliminess that okra produces: Soak your okra in enough cold water to cover it, then squeeze in the juice of one lime and let your okra sit for 10 to 15 minutes before you cook it. Best tip I've read plus it actually works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squirrelgirl22
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was really easy to make and very delicious. We will definitely be having this again. The flavor was spicy, but not hot for hot's sake. Cutting the standard recipe in half is enough for two with enough to spare for my lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was great! We had never tried okra before, but had picked up some fresh ears of corn and okra from the local produce stand. I only had 1/2 the amount of okra called for, and no sausage, but it was still delicious. In place of the sausage we just substituted left over steak from last night's dinner. I'm sure it is fantastic with the sausage, but it was really great with steak. Husband, kids, and myself all had second helpings! I'll definitely be making this again, although next time I'll plan ahead and get all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States