Hearty Chicken Vegetable Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
SO delicious. I couldn't stop eating it! I left the peppers out because I don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
What a unique flavor! The mushrooms, but particularly the red pepper, lend distinct and different flavors that make this soup just a little unusual and very, very good. I took the easy way out and used a good, boxed chicken broth and some leftover rotisserie chicken. All I had to do was chop up the vegetables and throw them all in the broth along with the chicken pieces and soup pasta. Let it all simmer away and 15 minutes later it was ready to serve. I left out the carrots because I don't like them (and now that I'm a grown-up I don't have to eat them) but I would NOT recommend omitting the red pepper as that's what gives this soup its special flavor. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I had leftover rotisserie chicken from Costco, so I cut that up in dices and used it for this soup. All I had to do was heat up the low soduim chicken broth until it was boiling then add the local grown carrots, zucchini, yellow squash, red bell pepper and mushrooms. For the celery, I just used two small stalks with the leafy green tops and minced it up thinly and added it to the soup. I didn't have any onions but I added 1 piece of garlic clove. Once the vegetables started to cook up a bit, I added a generous handful of the uncooked egg noodles. I seasoned the soup with fresh ground hawaiian sea salt and black pepper. I let the soup simmer for about 20 minutes until the noodles and vegetables were cooked. I had some fresh basil so I chopped up a little and sprinkled it on top last for color and flavoring. A very hearty, fresh, and flavorful soup this is! The soup has a light mild chicken taste, which I like a lot. The carrots taste sweet and still has a slight give when I took a bite into it - nice! The zucchinis still retained a nice bright green color to it, thou it was thinly sliced. All the fresh vegetables and herb makes this a 5 star for me. A pretty and "healthy" soup. It was perfect since my family woke up sick today. I also made, "Buttermilk Bread I, " from this website, to serve along with this soup. (That bread is tasty by the way). I really enjoyed this soup. It was easy to make and it hit the spot with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I have been making this soup for the last few years and it is a great soup for those cold days. I changed nothing about the receipe. It makes a large pot but is wonderful. Takes a while to make but its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This is wonderful! I was very excited to find this recipe because I wanted chicken soup with tons of vegetables in it. This is the winner! PS. I also added a can of green beans and a can of corn (both drained). I'm just so excited to have this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly3211

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Great! I made it with rice spirals, red peppers, celery, zucchini, pre-made broth and cooked chicken. It turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This soup was great. I've been trying to find a good chicken noodle veggie soup and this is it. It is time consuming but worth it and make ALOT of soup. One change I would make is I didn't like the tortellini in the soup.(Although my hubby liked it) Too much noodle - I will leave this out next time and add more veggies or potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This recipe is great! I wouldn't change anything about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
The only change I made was start with chicken stock. It was awesome! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent soup! I also added a box of frozen spinach and two 15 ounce cans of diced tomatoes. The next time I make it, I'm going to use two red bell peppers instead of one. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States