Hearty Chicken Vegetable Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Awesome…I tripled the vegetables and added two more chicken breasts.Also added 1 entire bag of egg noodles plus half box of small elbow macaroni. Came out fantastic. Chuck full of veggies…My husband likes the soup thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maytober
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I needed to use up some vegetables before heading off on vacation so I loosely used this recipe as a guide. In doing so I think I proved that you can sub just about any vegetables and still come up with a wonderful soup. I didn’t want to make 40 servings, so I braised a chicken breast in chicken broth, cooled and shredded it. I strained the broth and put it back in the pot. I added celery, carrots, mushrooms and more broth and simmered that for about ten minutes. I then added the shredded chicken, red and yellow bell peppers and chopped green onions and simmered for another five minutes. I added a good amount of Cajun seasoning and some leftover, cooked bow tie pasta and heated through. WOW! It was a delicious soup! I realize I didn’t make this recipe, and I’m sure it would be delicious as written. But I did want to write this review to show others that substitutions can be made with equally good results. UPDATE 10/11/11 - I froze my leftovers and pulled one out for dinner last night. I was in a rush and didn't have already cooked pasta to throw in like I did the last time, but I did have cooked rice, so I used that. EXCELLENT again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I had leftover rotisserie chicken from Costco, so I cut that up in dices and used it for this soup. All I had to do was heat up the low soduim chicken broth until it was boiling then add the local grown carrots, zucchini, yellow squash, red bell pepper and mushrooms. For the celery, I just used two small stalks with the leafy green tops and minced it up thinly and added it to the soup. I didn't have any onions but I added 1 piece of garlic clove. Once the vegetables started to cook up a bit, I added a generous handful of the uncooked egg noodles. I seasoned the soup with fresh ground hawaiian sea salt and black pepper. I let the soup simmer for about 20 minutes until the noodles and vegetables were cooked. I had some fresh basil so I chopped up a little and sprinkled it on top last for color and flavoring. A very hearty, fresh, and flavorful soup this is! The soup has a light mild chicken taste, which I like a lot. The carrots taste sweet and still has a slight give when I took a bite into it - nice! The zucchinis still retained a nice bright green color to it, thou it was thinly sliced. All the fresh vegetables and herb makes this a 5 star for me. A pretty and "healthy" soup. It was perfect since my family woke up sick today. I also made, "Buttermilk Bread I, " from this website, to serve along with this soup. (That bread is tasty by the way). I really enjoyed this soup. It was easy to make and it hit the spot with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent soup! I also added a box of frozen spinach and two 15 ounce cans of diced tomatoes. The next time I make it, I'm going to use two red bell peppers instead of one. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
What a unique flavor! The mushrooms, but particularly the red pepper, lend distinct and different flavors that make this soup just a little unusual and very, very good. I took the easy way out and used a good, boxed chicken broth and some leftover rotisserie chicken. All I had to do was chop up the vegetables and throw them all in the broth along with the chicken pieces and soup pasta. Let it all simmer away and 15 minutes later it was ready to serve. I left out the carrots because I don't like them (and now that I'm a grown-up I don't have to eat them) but I would NOT recommend omitting the red pepper as that's what gives this soup its special flavor. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Very tasty soup recipe. By choice I omitted the red bell pepper, basil and mushrooms. I used 5 or 6 cans chix broth instead of the base and I cooked the chicken in the broth (I was on a time constraint). I also added a couple handfuls of baby spinach chopped up. I actually didn't even use noodles of any kind since it was so nice and thick I couldn't say five stars since I adjusted the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorroth1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
The only change I made was start with chicken stock. It was awesome! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This recipe is great! I wouldn't change anything about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This soup was great. I've been trying to find a good chicken noodle veggie soup and this is it. It is time consuming but worth it and make ALOT of soup. One change I would make is I didn't like the tortellini in the soup.(Although my hubby liked it) Too much noodle - I will leave this out next time and add more veggies or potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States