Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This is in my regular rotation or dinner recipes because it's absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Delicious! I served this at our football watching party and it was a hit. I added some black beans and a can of Rotel Tomatoes and more broth. Next time I will cut back on the rice by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Added some black beans, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! Simple, fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Wonderful soup! Couldn't find that corn with peppers in a can, but in the frozen section I found Birds Eye had a "ultimate southwest blend" which is a mixture of sweet corn, black beans, mild poblano chilies, red peppers and roasted onions. I also used chicken bouillon, instant rice and tortilla chips. That shaved off some time, effort and mess. This will be a permanent recipe in our family menu! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I forgot to put in the lime juice I added onion and garlic while browning the chicken I used a whole bunch of cilantro not just a cup I used almost 2lbs of chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Great recipe- super easy with stuff you will have on hand. I didnt have corn tortillas so I just crushed up some corn tortilla chips and it was terrific. I did add more lime juice (just because I love it) and it great. Teen daughter loved it too. Will definitely make again when its cold out and you just want to warm up with some comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this for lunch today. Super easy. Added a can of black beans and northern beans after rinsing and a can of rotel though just the Pace would have been fine. This is one of those recipes that you can add and take away ingredients without impacting the flavor greatly. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny L Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was FABULOUS! My entire family went nuts over this meal and I had to promise that it would remain in the rotation. I used store brand chunky salsa, but pureed it (personal preference). I used chicken tenders browned in olive oil, shredded them, threw them back in the pot and tossed the water/bouillon cubes right on top (once the chix was fully cooked, of course) along with the other ingredients. Garlic powder was thrown in along with the wonderful cumin. I admit I cheated and bought the store brand tri-color tortilla strips--so easy. I made my rice separately in the microwave steamer and just poured the soup over it in individual bowls--perfect! Thank you so much for this recipe! WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This recipe just saved me a bunch of money! This tastes IDENTICAL to chicken tortilla soup from a very good local mexican restaurant that my daughter and I used to go to as much as we could. The recipe does not need any fixes, but you can adjust to your tastes if you want -- I only added a bit more cilantro and at the end topped it with tortilla chips with melted mexican blend cheese and fresh avacado. Oh my goodness, this was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States