Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I do believe that you should rate the recipe "as-is", but I still would like to give this recipe 5 stars as the changes I made were my preferences and does not change the quality of the original recipe. These "substitutions" were that I used boiling water and chicken bouillon to make the broth (I never buy canned brother anymore, too expensive and takes too much room in the pantry as I use quite a bit). I also substituted my own salsa for the Pace brand. I added a little more cilantro since I LOVE cilantro. And I didn't have the "Mexican-style" corn with the peppers, so I just used regular corn... I don't think that made a huge difference in flavor since those peppers probably don't have much taste coming from a can of corn... more of a texture thing. I tasted the soup and thought it was excellent and flavorful BEFORE I added a can of Rotel HOT Tomatoes with Habanero peppers. I like things very spicy and I also think tortilla soup should have some diced tomatoes in it, so this was an great touch for me. However, the soup was still very good before the Rotel. I look forward to making this recipe again on days I have leftover chicken for a very quick meal (30 mins. with precooked chicken that is already chopped/shredded). I also would like to try this in the crockpot with whole raw chicken breasts thrown in with everything else... and then shred the chicken at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Made this last night, eating left overs right now... Love it!! I can never follow a recipe to a T though, so I made some changes. I cooked the chicken with some onion that I had left over. I also added a can of tomatos, I used about a cup of rice, and added a little cinnamon to give it that "hmmm what is that?" perfect!! I'll make this again. I baked my own tortilla strips, but next time, I'll probably just use store bought. Too much time, and I burnt the first batch... oops. Wonderful soup though! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I am so in love with this recipe!!! The only thing I changed was adding more rice, cilantro and broth. Wonderful for cold Colorado nights. My mother-in-law even approved and took my copy of the recipe home with her! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slrod22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Centro, California, USA
Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This has such a great flavor, the lime and cilantro really added to the flavor. My daughter even ate it and she usually hates anything with corn. I also added black beans and used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
nice soup!better than all these chicken tortilla soups 4rm here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
My picky 12 year old son loves the tortilla soup at “Wahoo’s Fish Tacos,” so I thought I would give a shot at making one at home that he might like. This was the first recipe I tried. After looking at it, he said, “It doesn’t look the same.” And after me saying, “Giiiiive iiiit aaaa tryyyyy,” he was hooked after one bite. It may not taste exactly the same as Wahoo’s, but I now I have an excellent tortilla soup for my recipe box. We tried the soup with the homemade tortilla strips and then with crunched up tortilla chips, and prefered the chips. Also, we found that less rice is better (@1/4-1/3 cup). 1/2 is still good, but it is more like a gumbo consistency than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This soup is awesome! It tasted like something straight from a restaurant kitchen! I followed the recipe exactly and was blown away by how yummie it was! My 6 year old said it was the best thing I had ever made!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was a great recipe! It had outstanding flavor and was even better the next day. Will certainly keep this one in my recipe box. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
OMG! This soup is awesome!!!!!!! Go easy on the rice though. If not it will soak up the best part of the meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty185

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chalmette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This recipe was perfect. I made it for a potluck at work and nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States