Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was a surprisingly good soup! I followed the recipe to a T, with the exception of the tortilla strips (I used store bought for those).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very easy & made good leftovers too! I made some small changes: used brown not white rice, more cilantro, a can of diced tomatoes & low sodium broth. Just tried to make healthier & still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Absolutely Delicious! I added 1 can drained and rinsed black beans to the soup and topped each bowl with shredded cheese and a dollup of sour cream along with store bought tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Love it! I made this for supper tonight on this chilly Delaware evening and it was DELICIOUS! I was so proud of it and of myself because I followed it to the letter (except for adding a can of rinsed and drained black beans) and it turned out just perfect. We could smell the cilantro and cumin as the soup was cooking and it made us so anxious for it to be done. I did use a different kind of salsa just because I like it better and it has a bit of a kick to it (not hot, just zesty), but we do like Pace and I'm sure it would have been just as tasty if I'd used that salsa. My only problem There was only enough for one bowl left for leftovers because the four of us ate it all! Next time, I'll double the recipe. Thanks so much for this recipe...I know we'll use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I really liked this recipe. My kids loved it. I added black beans and a half can of rotel. It was toped with cheese and sour cream!! Its great..THAX!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernsweet
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I do believe that you should rate the recipe "as-is", but I still would like to give this recipe 5 stars as the changes I made were my preferences and does not change the quality of the original recipe. These "substitutions" were that I used boiling water and chicken bouillon to make the broth (I never buy canned brother anymore, too expensive and takes too much room in the pantry as I use quite a bit). I also substituted my own salsa for the Pace brand. I added a little more cilantro since I LOVE cilantro. And I didn't have the "Mexican-style" corn with the peppers, so I just used regular corn... I don't think that made a huge difference in flavor since those peppers probably don't have much taste coming from a can of corn... more of a texture thing. I tasted the soup and thought it was excellent and flavorful BEFORE I added a can of Rotel HOT Tomatoes with Habanero peppers. I like things very spicy and I also think tortilla soup should have some diced tomatoes in it, so this was an great touch for me. However, the soup was still very good before the Rotel. I look forward to making this recipe again on days I have leftover chicken for a very quick meal (30 mins. with precooked chicken that is already chopped/shredded). I also would like to try this in the crockpot with whole raw chicken breasts thrown in with everything else... and then shred the chicken at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This has such a great flavor, the lime and cilantro really added to the flavor. My daughter even ate it and she usually hates anything with corn. I also added black beans and used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Made this last night, eating left overs right now... Love it!! I can never follow a recipe to a T though, so I made some changes. I cooked the chicken with some onion that I had left over. I also added a can of tomatos, I used about a cup of rice, and added a little cinnamon to give it that "hmmm what is that?" perfect!! I'll make this again. I baked my own tortilla strips, but next time, I'll probably just use store bought. Too much time, and I burnt the first batch... oops. Wonderful soup though! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
nice soup!better than all these chicken tortilla soups 4rm here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
OMG! This soup is awesome!!!!!!! Go easy on the rice though. If not it will soak up the best part of the meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty185

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chalmette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States