Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This soup was excellent! I doubled the recipe and just added a little bit of salt to taste and an extra can of Hunts Fire Roasted Garlic Diced Tomatoes. I also probably used a little more cilantro and fresh lime juice to taste. It's much better served the day after so the flavors can come together. I didn't make the tortilla chips, however, I used the lime flavored ones...recipe is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is a good soup, I must admit I never had chicken tortilla soup with rice in it but it was a nice addition. And I didn't have any corn with red and green bell peppers in it, so I just used a can of corn niblets and I had a red and green bell pepper so I just cut them up and added. I also only had a fourth of salsa sauce left in my frig so I just used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Quick, easy and delicious, what mare could you ask for? We like to add sour cream and cheese to each bowl for more flavor (and calories I guess).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
So yummy! The only change I made was I put everything in my slow cooker after browning the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grukimbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malta, Idaho, USA
Living In: Bancroft, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was great! My two year old even ate it! I added a can of black beans for some extra nutrients. Added just 1/3 c rice and used my whole carton of broth (4 cups). I added a can of green chiles along with my can of corn because I didn't have the corn w/ peppers. I was also missing the cilantro :( It was still delicious but I'm sure it would've been even better with some extra cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This soup is exceptional. It is even better the next day when all the flavors have blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made some changes. I cut up an onion and orange pepper and cooked with the chicken, I also added salt, pepper, cayenne, and chili powder to them while they were cooking to make it spicy. I used 4 cups broth, and added some tabasco. It was really yummy, will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This recipe was perfect. I made it for a potluck at work and nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I am so in love with this recipe!!! The only thing I changed was adding more rice, cilantro and broth. Wonderful for cold Colorado nights. My mother-in-law even approved and took my copy of the recipe home with her! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slrod22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Centro, California, USA
Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States