Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Absolutely Awesome! I did add a little extra chicken broth and cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Hmm. 4 1/2 stars? We're not feeling it. This soup was just OK --Definitely not extraordinary. I reread this recipe several times to see if there was something I did wrong. It wasn't bad, but just really unexciting. On the positive side, it was very easy to make. Not sure that I would bother making again even with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
delicious soup! I would definitely make this again. I was really easy and used up my left over whole chicken that I baked last week. I took another persons advice and added a can of black beans. For the salsa I used half a mild salsa and half a hot salsa to make the soup a bit spicy. Amazing with a wedge of lemon squeezed over! Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahhurlburt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
We loved this recipe. I made this for the first time a few days ago and am already being asked when will I be making it again. Such a simple recipe that everyone loved! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe as is. I like to take the leftovers from a rotisserie chicken...I de-bone it, put the bones and any drippings in the soup pot with 6 cups water, bring to a boil, and simmer for an hour or so on low. That liquid takes the place of the chicken broth, only better! I add a couple of teaspoons of salt since prepared broth is generally salted. After removing the bones, and adding the chicken I saved from the de-boning, I make the recipe as written, with the addition of a can of black beans, with liquid. I like to drop a few of the sliced tortillas to the soup just before serving, as well as leaving some for topping, along with a dollop of sour cream and pinch of fresh-chopped cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I used a bit more corn than it called for but it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Good taste and flavor. Added too much rice and it wasn't as "soupy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Easy, fast, and delicious. 5 stars as is... I like to add black beans and a can of stewed tomatoes. I also shred the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skicassdiablo
Home Town: Morgan, Utah, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Photo by Lovestocook25
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Yummy! What a great soup on a cold winter night. I made as written and it was excellent. Only thing I forgot before taking a photo was to put the tortilla strips (which I'd bought ready-made) on top of the soup, so after we'd started to eat it I added a dollop of sour cream and a few of the Sante Fe strips. I loved others' suggestions of adding black beans, shredded Mexican blend cheese and using a crockpot and I'll definitely be incorporating those when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I threw all in crockpot and added a can of black beans-very good on cold winternight tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States