Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is really delicious. We used frozen corn instead of the canned. You have to keep an eye on the tortilla strips. There's a fine line between perfectly done & burned, that you don't want to cross. I used a pizza cutter to cut them. The recipe was super easy and fast to make. It has a really great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Made this recently and was a little disappointed in the flavor. It was somewhat bland but it was still good. I added 1 can of rinses black beans which turned out very good. I would probably change something to the recipe next time, but I'm not sure what that would be...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Added Rotel and black beans. Pretty tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Love this soup! Used leftover cooked chicken. Next time I will add more broth as mine was not very "soupy", just a little too thick but delicious. It has a very fresh "lime" taste to it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Great basic recipe to build on. I added a can of black beans, used brown rice and frozen corn instead of the canned corn, and added a 4 oz. can of green chilies and Frank's Red Hot sauce for added zing. DH thought it was great so we'll be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Great Soup!!! Wonderful flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaybre008
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Not full of flavor, but good. Used store bought crunchy tortilla strips instead of making my own to save time. The smaller I cut the chicken, the more I liked the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Me and my family love this recipe. I have tried it a few different ways. My favorite is using chipole flavored corn instead of the bell pepper corn, (not a real big pepper fan). My picky husband loves this soup. I made it for my extended family (inlaws, aunts, uncles, etc,) Of course, I tripled the recipe, but still almost ran out. It was a huge success. I don't think anyone had only one bowll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was very good! I did make some healthier changes/additions tho. I try to get the kids to eat extra fiber, but because they ARE kids, I have to hide it from their little turned up noses! Here's what I did: I browned the chicken in olive oil. I used 99%fat free broth, stirred in 1/2 can of fat free refried beans and put the rest out for a condiment because my kids think they don't like 'that yucky brown stuff'...little did they know it was in the soup! I used 1/2 quinoa (the mother load of grains!) & 1/2 brown rice, whole wheat tortillias and threw in a handful of flax for good measure! When it was time to serve, I had fat free sour cream, chopped green onion, low fat shredded provolone, the remaining refried beans (!) and additional salsa & fire sauce for the fire-proof pallet! The result was a thick attractive soup packed FULL of hidden nutrients and it tasted AWESOME! Everyone INCLUDING the kids loved it! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Fantastic! Wonderful flavor for a low-fat/high fiber meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States