Hearty Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This soup should not be eaten until it has been refrigerated overnight. The first day it was so/so, but the second day it was a wonderful, original blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This is a great chicken soup. I made it for my husband who is sick with a cold and it really hit the spot. I used only one onion but next time will try two as the recipe says. And I added salt and pepper and a little bit of italian seasoning. Also, I used chicken thighs since they were cheaper than a whole chicken and we like dark meat better anyway.My husband really raved about how good this was. Definitely a hearty chicken soup and a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This is a great recipe and a fantastic fall meal! I changed a few ingredients, based on what I had in my cupboards and fridge. I used an orange bell pepper (instead of red); I added a cup of shredded spinach just before serving (extra ingredient---it wilts by the time people begin to eat it); I used about 5 frozen chicken tenders (instead of a whole chicken); I used fresh corn kearnels from one ear of corn (instead of canned or frozen corn).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
WOW!!!!!! Thanks for the explicit instructions! This is one of my family's favourite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
My family loved the soup. I just added a few extra ingredients--I added a head of garlic (chopped) and some cayenne pepper for a little kick. My 9-year-old liked it so much, he asked me if I could rate it above 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is a terrific chicken soup. I doubled the amount of barley for a "fatter" soup. I also agree that it's better after an overnight in the fridge. It also freezes well. It's a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Amazing soup - flavor was wonderful. Just what I was looking for. I followed the recipe exactly except that I grated all my carrots. The red bell pepper really added a nice flavour to the soup. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is a Great Chicken Soup.I just changed a couple things.I added 2 cloves of Garlic and Salt and Pepper. Instead of the Barley I used 3/4 cup of orzo. I also used a 3-4 lb Chicken and simmered for 2 hours instead of 1 hour before pulling the Chicken apart and then simmer again for 30 minutes before adding the orzo. Doing this gives you more than 3 hours of cook time and makes this an Amazing soup no matter when you eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Really really nice recipe, my family loved it. I also tried the crushed red pepper spice + I added some garlic salt. Was really good, thanks for sharing. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
We all loved this! I did add extra mushrooms. My husband even asked when I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States