Hearty Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This is a great chicken soup. I made it for my husband who is sick with a cold and it really hit the spot. I used only one onion but next time will try two as the recipe says. And I added salt and pepper and a little bit of italian seasoning. Also, I used chicken thighs since they were cheaper than a whole chicken and we like dark meat better anyway.My husband really raved about how good this was. Definitely a hearty chicken soup and a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This is a great recipe and a fantastic fall meal! I changed a few ingredients, based on what I had in my cupboards and fridge. I used an orange bell pepper (instead of red); I added a cup of shredded spinach just before serving (extra ingredient---it wilts by the time people begin to eat it); I used about 5 frozen chicken tenders (instead of a whole chicken); I used fresh corn kearnels from one ear of corn (instead of canned or frozen corn).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This soup should not be eaten until it has been refrigerated overnight. The first day it was so/so, but the second day it was a wonderful, original blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is a Great Chicken Soup.I just changed a couple things.I added 2 cloves of Garlic and Salt and Pepper. Instead of the Barley I used 3/4 cup of orzo. I also used a 3-4 lb Chicken and simmered for 2 hours instead of 1 hour before pulling the Chicken apart and then simmer again for 30 minutes before adding the orzo. Doing this gives you more than 3 hours of cook time and makes this an Amazing soup no matter when you eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This is a great simple recipe for chicken soup. I find that poking an onion with whole cloves and adding it to the soup adds great flavour. Also, if you allow the broth to cool and refrigerate overnight, the next morning you'll be able to skim off any fat that has congealed on the surface and you're left with a great fat-free soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
My family loved the soup. I just added a few extra ingredients--I added a head of garlic (chopped) and some cayenne pepper for a little kick. My 9-year-old liked it so much, he asked me if I could rate it above 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This soup is definitely hearty; lots of vegetables and chicken but very bland. It is a good basic soup that can take many different directions depending on the blend of seasoning/spices added. By itself, it's just so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was VERY good! I only rated as 4 stars due to the lack of seasoning. I halved the recipe, increased the barley a little, and added 1 t. minced garlic, 3/4 t. salt, 1/8 t. each of pepper, sage, thyme, and basil. It gave it just enough flavor without overwhelming you. Without it I think it would have been fairly bland. My entire family REALLY liked it! Even my 5 year old raved about it saying "this is the best soup ever!" and he doesn't like soup! Very good! It will definately be made again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Amazing soup - flavor was wonderful. Just what I was looking for. I followed the recipe exactly except that I grated all my carrots. The red bell pepper really added a nice flavour to the soup. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Tastes amazing! I cheat by buying a rotisserie chicken from the local market. I throw away the skin and toss the chicken into the water with the vegetables right off the bat. It cuts down on my cooking time. There's enough broth to satisfy my fiancé and I (he loves it, I hate it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States