Hearty Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is a terrific chicken soup. I doubled the amount of barley for a "fatter" soup. I also agree that it's better after an overnight in the fridge. It also freezes well. It's a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
At first my husband didn't want to add the barley, but when he did, he realized it added a wonderful texture to the soup. We like extreme flavors, so he added a lot of extra seasoning. All in all, a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
My family loved the soup. I just added a few extra ingredients--I added a head of garlic (chopped) and some cayenne pepper for a little kick. My 9-year-old liked it so much, he asked me if I could rate it above 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
WOW!!!!!! Thanks for the explicit instructions! This is one of my family's favourite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Very good! Just like mother use to make. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This is a great recipe and a fantastic fall meal! I changed a few ingredients, based on what I had in my cupboards and fridge. I used an orange bell pepper (instead of red); I added a cup of shredded spinach just before serving (extra ingredient---it wilts by the time people begin to eat it); I used about 5 frozen chicken tenders (instead of a whole chicken); I used fresh corn kearnels from one ear of corn (instead of canned or frozen corn).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This soup is definitely hearty; lots of vegetables and chicken but very bland. It is a good basic soup that can take many different directions depending on the blend of seasoning/spices added. By itself, it's just so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This soup should not be eaten until it has been refrigerated overnight. The first day it was so/so, but the second day it was a wonderful, original blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This is a great simple recipe for chicken soup. I find that poking an onion with whole cloves and adding it to the soup adds great flavour. Also, if you allow the broth to cool and refrigerate overnight, the next morning you'll be able to skim off any fat that has congealed on the surface and you're left with a great fat-free soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This is a great chicken soup. I made it for my husband who is sick with a cold and it really hit the spot. I used only one onion but next time will try two as the recipe says. And I added salt and pepper and a little bit of italian seasoning. Also, I used chicken thighs since they were cheaper than a whole chicken and we like dark meat better anyway.My husband really raved about how good this was. Definitely a hearty chicken soup and a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States