Hearty Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
THis soup was unfortunately not liked by anyone in the house. I think , the texture is the problem. Shredded cabbage in the soup tastes strange. I pureed the soup and mixed with equal quantity of cooked yellow lentils with some cumin and cayenne. Added finely chopped fresh parseley as well. My husband just loved it and couldn't believe that I used the cabbage soup as base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
Not at all what I expected. I did not enjoy this at all. It was not very brothy, more like a stew and it had a strange taste. I sliced my cabbage instead of shredding it so I don't know if that was part of the problem. It seemed very starchy and more stewlike than soup. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This hearty cabbage soup is excellent. I added celery and look forward to trying it again with other vegetables. Bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Great recipe, and as Tracy said, "versatile!" I added pound of browned lean hamburger, but followed everything else. DELICIOUS. I've been asked to make this again, and again! Thanks, Tracy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I love all the ingredients by themselves, but this combination didn't make it. I think if the broth and the 1/2 + 1/2 each had an extra 1/2 cup of liquid, and the potato was a medium one, this might have been more like a soup. I'll try again using my changes, and possibly add some caraway or anise seed for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I pretty much made this recipe as written but added more broth. It is not very appetizing looking, that's for sure, but tasted very good. If I made it again, I would add some other veggies or something for color and maybe not shred everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Wonderful base soup! I dislike thin, "brothy" soups of any kind, but this one's nice and hearty, much better than most cabbage soups. The tiny bit of sugar really brings out the flavors. I sauteed some polish sausage along with the onion, and added some extra veggies. Great for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie F

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pattonsburg, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I didn't like this at all.. can't figure out what the problem was because I followed the directions to a "T".. the potatoes were shredded but had a bad taste, kind of "boiled" and it smelled bad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This is a very good soup. I replaced the "vegetable oil" with olive oil and cut the teaspoon of sugar to half a teaspoon. Cabbage is sweet enough without the sugar. But it helps lighten the taste of the half and half. All in all this is one of the healthiest recipes for cabbage soup I've found on this site, despite the half and half and sugar. All the other ingredients are fresh and wholesome. A rarity in these days of "start with on jar of mayonnaise and two cans of creamed soup" cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Delicious! Who would have thought apple and cabbage go so well together? But they do :) We're sometimes vegan, so I might try it some day with soy milk instead of half-and-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States