Hearty Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Great. No bananas on hand. Used cooked mashed squash. Making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I really like these muffins. I'm sick of cereal for breakfast so was looking for something healthy for a quick morning meal. These were very easy to make and exceeded my expectations, with great texture and only slight sweetness. Much better than store-bought muffins with sugar listed as the number one ingredient. I used dried cranberries and chopped walnuts because I happened to have them on hand. I also used 1 whole egg and two egg whites. While no recipe tweaking is necessary, I may next time use only egg whites and try different fruit and nuts, as suggested. I also enjoy eating them with a slice of nice sharp cheddar cheese. Mission accomplished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krikor
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Used date sugar in place of brown sugar 1:2 ratio Date: Brown. Also used 7-grain flour with whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
These are very moist and tasty without being too sweet. As reviewer Helen did, I substituted a shredded apple for the zucchini which turned out really well. Also, I'm a big fan of flax seed meal because it really helps with hot flashes and it's very nutritious so I substituted 1/4 cup of flax seed meal for the flour. I will definitely make these again. As others noted, you can use lots of different combinations of dried fruits and nuts in place of the cherries and pecans to vary the recipe so it doesn't get boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Lacks flavor. Should have added more spices. Did add vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cresson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Wow, great taste. Little messy to whip up with all the grating, but definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Loved everything about this muffin. Only change I made was craisens for the cherries. I used average grocery size zucchini, 1 1/2 bananas (hubby got to the bananas!) and had no issues with it's being too mushy. Perfect moistness as measurement was given. Definitely will make again. Actually I am making a 2nd batch now to share at church. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Fantastic! I thought I'd venture from my breakfast cookie and make some muffins and came across this recipe. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable and instead of yogurt, cottage cheese. I used a small zucchini. The only nuts I had around was "Almond Meal" from Trader Joes (which is almonds ground to a fine powder), I put in a whole cup to add protein, and I also threw in 1/2 cup of ground flax. These are SO delicious, and the consistency is PERFECT. I cooked mine for 20 minutes. Thanks, Katie! I'm going to try your Kale salad next. Keep posting ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These muffins need more 5 star ratings! They have become a staple in our house. I have made them 4x now and they always turn out great. They freeze well, and reheat well. The recipe needs to be doubled, so you can get closer to 2 muffin pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made these for the first time today. As other reviewers suggested,I revised a little. I added 1/4 cup of flaxseed and increased oats to 3/4 cup. Also used applesauce for the oil, and only had organic regular yogurt to use as well as walnuts instead of pecans. Decided to use the chocolate chips instead of cherries. Because I had some whole wheat flour to use up I used it but next time I plan to make it gluten free. Will post it when I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States