Hearty Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Excellent. Used greek yogurt, changed nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
A versatile, tasty recipe. Made significant changes based on the reviews: -Added 1/2 cup white flour. -Omitted yogurt; used 1 tbsp cultured buttermilk instead -Used 1/3 cup melted virgin coconut oil -Used 1 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp baking powder -Added 1 tbsp freshly ground ginger -Added 1 tsp Penzey's apple pie spice -Squeezed the shredded zucchini to remove some juice -Omitted cherries; used 1/4c dried dates and 1/4c raisins -Baked for 27 minutes Because I used banana-bread-ripe bananas and some dates, they were very sweet. I would have used 1/4c sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I'm sorry, I love hearty foods but this was just plain awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
So good! I love how hearty and healthy they are. I added flaxseed to mine and passed on the raisins. My husband has raved about them and this recipe yielded about 24 standard sized muffins. Perfect for freezing and for on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Turned out too wet - would need to adjust by adding more flour or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I made this recipe for the first time exactly as written...they were fabulous. They are moist and delicious. I will definitely be making them again soon to stock up the freezer. No need to change a thing....I baked mine at least 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aem
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Super delicious. The variety of flavors is a delight. Super moist with the banana and zucchini. - I was out of carrots, and didn't use ginger. I split the rolled oats amount with half quinoa flakes, and added 2 tablespoons wheat germ. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Wow!!! These are really good! I substituted chocolate chips for the cherries, reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup and the oil to 2 Tbs. They were still moist and plenty sweet! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Overall these muffins were really good! I made a few changes- I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, I omitted the pecans and cherries, and I added a bit more spices. Also I made sure to strain both the carrots and the zucchini before I added them to the mixture- I think this would help solve the problem some people were having about the recipe not calling for enough flour- there was a LOT of liquid in the vegetables. One problem I had with this recipe was that it called for an entire teaspoon of salt!! I only added about half that much, thinking it seemed like a lot, and still my muffin turned out a bit too salty for my taste. Other than the salt issue, these muffins were wonderful- very moist and light- not dense like I thought it might be. I will definitely make these again, maybe with a bit of orange zest next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theamatuercook
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
First time making these muffins and they came out pretty well. I had to leave them in for almost 35 minutes since the recipe was very wet, probably due to using frozen bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States