Hearty Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These muffins need more 5 star ratings! They have become a staple in our house. I have made them 4x now and they always turn out great. They freeze well, and reheat well. The recipe needs to be doubled, so you can get closer to 2 muffin pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made these for the first time today. As other reviewers suggested,I revised a little. I added 1/4 cup of flaxseed and increased oats to 3/4 cup. Also used applesauce for the oil, and only had organic regular yogurt to use as well as walnuts instead of pecans. Decided to use the chocolate chips instead of cherries. Because I had some whole wheat flour to use up I used it but next time I plan to make it gluten free. Will post it when I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
just ok. needs more texture and more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I doubled and put two trays in oven at same time and it took 30 min for the toothpick to come out almost dry. But worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Breanna Bourke
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Wow! I was a tad sceptical, but these were awesome! My 2 year old daughter and I loved them. She finished hers and said "I want yours too". Lol :). I followed the recipes, but used walnuts (more affordable) and raisins (what I had). My only complaint was that they were crumbly taking out of the pan. Not sure why that would be. They taste great! I love that they are pretty healthy and loaded with veggies and other good stuff. Lots of work to grate carrots and zucchini and measure out all the ingredients, but worth it. I will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna Bourke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was awesome and I plan to make again and freeze for quick breakfasts before school. My batch made 16 cupcakes and they were the perfect consistency. I substituted chocolate chips since I didn't have any dried cherries on hand and I substituted 1/4 c agave nectar instead of sugar. I also used applesauce in place of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I love to adapt this recipe to what I have on hand. I used applesauce instead of oil and cranberries instead of cherries. Had to turn the oven down and cook a bit longer so they weren't soggy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Our family loves these so much that I make them once a week for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I love to read the reviews people leave but have never left one. These muffins came out so wonderful I hate to post. I followed the ingredients exactly but don't eat sugar so substituted honey. My hubby and I Love these muffins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Update: Apparently the first time I made these, by a complete fluke, I hit the proportions right. The second time -- ROYAL disaster. I would say that both the zucchini and carrots should be on the med/small side AND the carrot should definitely dictate the amount of zucchini. It can be hard to gauge if these are done even with a fork/toothpick. Mine came out clean, but are complete mush inside. Will continue to play with the recipe, as I know these can be delicious, but had my second experience been my first experience, I would never make these again. Original: Really yummy recipe base, but needs some minor tweaking, as my muffins lost their "bottoms" (!) to the tin despite very adequate greasing. Unlike others, I grated two carrots and then used that amount as the example for how much zucchini to grate (I had to sub some grated apple, as one zucchini was bad inside). Kept all other measurements the same & felt that the ratio of flour was normal. They are beautiful muffins -- look like something from a bakery. Appreciated hint to fill tins, as they do not rise very much. My tins were filled to the very top, but did not overflow (made exactly 12). Could probably reduce sugar to 1/3 cup if satisfied with a less sweet muffin. YUM all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States