Hearty Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by aem
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Super delicious. The variety of flavors is a delight. Super moist with the banana and zucchini. - I was out of carrots, and didn't use ginger. I split the rolled oats amount with half quinoa flakes, and added 2 tablespoons wheat germ. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Wow!!! These are really good! I substituted chocolate chips for the cherries, reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup and the oil to 2 Tbs. They were still moist and plenty sweet! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Overall these muffins were really good! I made a few changes- I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, I omitted the pecans and cherries, and I added a bit more spices. Also I made sure to strain both the carrots and the zucchini before I added them to the mixture- I think this would help solve the problem some people were having about the recipe not calling for enough flour- there was a LOT of liquid in the vegetables. One problem I had with this recipe was that it called for an entire teaspoon of salt!! I only added about half that much, thinking it seemed like a lot, and still my muffin turned out a bit too salty for my taste. Other than the salt issue, these muffins were wonderful- very moist and light- not dense like I thought it might be. I will definitely make these again, maybe with a bit of orange zest next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theamatuercook
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
First time making these muffins and they came out pretty well. I had to leave them in for almost 35 minutes since the recipe was very wet, probably due to using frozen bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I cannot get enough of these muffins, they are perfect for breakfast at work! I add more oats (just shy of doubling the amount) to make them a bit more firm (very moist batter), use apple sauce instead of oil, use greek yogurt and add a handful of ground flax seed (for the nutrition). I also suggest giving the zucchini a squeeze after shredding to remove some of the excess water. I've been experimenting with flavors and everything has been wonderful, so far my substitutions have been: - dark chocolate chips instead of nuts and oranges instead of the dried cherries (which were INCREDIBLE, though next time I will add some orange extract as well to bring out the flavor) - pineapple instead of dried cherries and walnuts instead of pecans (just what was in the cupboard) - a mix of dried cherries, goji berries and blueberries rather than just all cherries and walnut instead of pecans. All versions so far have been wonderful and SO filling (though chocolate orange was the household favorite). It's a great muffin to just put whatever you have on hand into and it just works! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lydiad
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Amazing muffins!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Excellent!!! Be sure to double the recipe and freeze. The aroma in the kitchen will remind you of Grandma's baking. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
needed to cook this muffin way longer than stated raw in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
My family asked, "What's in these things?" My answer was "Everything!" I used carrots, bananas, pumpkin, apple sauce, coconut, dried blueberries, pecans, chocolate chips, oats, whole wheat flour, eggs, coconut oil, eggs, yogurt, brown sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves, & salt. Whew! I baked in silicone muffin and mini loaf pans filled to the top. Cooling in the silicone made them easier to push out whole. Next time I want to add a streusel topping! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Scates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llmcc
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Tastes like a carrot cake and banana bread combo. I was looking for a recipe to use ripe bananas but wanted something more nutritious than regular banana bread. These muffins even got a thumbs up from an unnamed individual who doesn't like anything too healthy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llmcc

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States