Hearty Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by theamatuercook
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
First time making these muffins and they came out pretty well. I had to leave them in for almost 35 minutes since the recipe was very wet, probably due to using frozen bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I cannot get enough of these muffins, they are perfect for breakfast at work! I add more oats (just shy of doubling the amount) to make them a bit more firm (very moist batter), use apple sauce instead of oil, use greek yogurt and add a handful of ground flax seed (for the nutrition). I also suggest giving the zucchini a squeeze after shredding to remove some of the excess water. I've been experimenting with flavors and everything has been wonderful, so far my substitutions have been: - dark chocolate chips instead of nuts and oranges instead of the dried cherries (which were INCREDIBLE, though next time I will add some orange extract as well to bring out the flavor) - pineapple instead of dried cherries and walnuts instead of pecans (just what was in the cupboard) - a mix of dried cherries, goji berries and blueberries rather than just all cherries and walnut instead of pecans. All versions so far have been wonderful and SO filling (though chocolate orange was the household favorite). It's a great muffin to just put whatever you have on hand into and it just works! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lydiad
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Amazing muffins!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Excellent!!! Be sure to double the recipe and freeze. The aroma in the kitchen will remind you of Grandma's baking. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
needed to cook this muffin way longer than stated raw in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
My family asked, "What's in these things?" My answer was "Everything!" I used carrots, bananas, pumpkin, apple sauce, coconut, dried blueberries, pecans, chocolate chips, oats, whole wheat flour, eggs, coconut oil, eggs, yogurt, brown sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves, & salt. Whew! I baked in silicone muffin and mini loaf pans filled to the top. Cooling in the silicone made them easier to push out whole. Next time I want to add a streusel topping! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Scates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llmcc
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Tastes like a carrot cake and banana bread combo. I was looking for a recipe to use ripe bananas but wanted something more nutritious than regular banana bread. These muffins even got a thumbs up from an unnamed individual who doesn't like anything too healthy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llmcc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Wow! I made my first batch and they were amazing! I used chopped WALNUTS instead of pecans, and CRANBERRIES instead of dried cherries, and I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Did everything the recipe asked but did not add any nuts. I was very happy with the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Great. No bananas on hand. Used cooked mashed squash. Making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States