Hearty Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
A versatile, tasty recipe. Made significant changes based on the reviews: -Added 1/2 cup white flour. -Omitted yogurt; used 1 tbsp cultured buttermilk instead -Used 1/3 cup melted virgin coconut oil -Used 1 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp baking powder -Added 1 tbsp freshly ground ginger -Added 1 tsp Penzey's apple pie spice -Squeezed the shredded zucchini to remove some juice -Omitted cherries; used 1/4c dried dates and 1/4c raisins -Baked for 27 minutes Because I used banana-bread-ripe bananas and some dates, they were very sweet. I would have used 1/4c sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I'm sorry, I love hearty foods but this was just plain awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
So good! I love how hearty and healthy they are. I added flaxseed to mine and passed on the raisins. My husband has raved about them and this recipe yielded about 24 standard sized muffins. Perfect for freezing and for on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Turned out too wet - would need to adjust by adding more flour or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I made this recipe for the first time exactly as written...they were fabulous. They are moist and delicious. I will definitely be making them again soon to stock up the freezer. No need to change a thing....I baked mine at least 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aem
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Super delicious. The variety of flavors is a delight. Super moist with the banana and zucchini. - I was out of carrots, and didn't use ginger. I split the rolled oats amount with half quinoa flakes, and added 2 tablespoons wheat germ. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Wow!!! These are really good! I substituted chocolate chips for the cherries, reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup and the oil to 2 Tbs. They were still moist and plenty sweet! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Overall these muffins were really good! I made a few changes- I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, I omitted the pecans and cherries, and I added a bit more spices. Also I made sure to strain both the carrots and the zucchini before I added them to the mixture- I think this would help solve the problem some people were having about the recipe not calling for enough flour- there was a LOT of liquid in the vegetables. One problem I had with this recipe was that it called for an entire teaspoon of salt!! I only added about half that much, thinking it seemed like a lot, and still my muffin turned out a bit too salty for my taste. Other than the salt issue, these muffins were wonderful- very moist and light- not dense like I thought it might be. I will definitely make these again, maybe with a bit of orange zest next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theamatuercook
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
First time making these muffins and they came out pretty well. I had to leave them in for almost 35 minutes since the recipe was very wet, probably due to using frozen bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I cannot get enough of these muffins, they are perfect for breakfast at work! I add more oats (just shy of doubling the amount) to make them a bit more firm (very moist batter), use apple sauce instead of oil, use greek yogurt and add a handful of ground flax seed (for the nutrition). I also suggest giving the zucchini a squeeze after shredding to remove some of the excess water. I've been experimenting with flavors and everything has been wonderful, so far my substitutions have been: - dark chocolate chips instead of nuts and oranges instead of the dried cherries (which were INCREDIBLE, though next time I will add some orange extract as well to bring out the flavor) - pineapple instead of dried cherries and walnuts instead of pecans (just what was in the cupboard) - a mix of dried cherries, goji berries and blueberries rather than just all cherries and walnut instead of pecans. All versions so far have been wonderful and SO filling (though chocolate orange was the household favorite). It's a great muffin to just put whatever you have on hand into and it just works! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States