Hearty Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
just ok. needs more texture and more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I doubled and put two trays in oven at same time and it took 30 min for the toothpick to come out almost dry. But worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Breanna Bourke
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Wow! I was a tad sceptical, but these were awesome! My 2 year old daughter and I loved them. She finished hers and said "I want yours too". Lol :). I followed the recipes, but used walnuts (more affordable) and raisins (what I had). My only complaint was that they were crumbly taking out of the pan. Not sure why that would be. They taste great! I love that they are pretty healthy and loaded with veggies and other good stuff. Lots of work to grate carrots and zucchini and measure out all the ingredients, but worth it. I will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna Bourke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was awesome and I plan to make again and freeze for quick breakfasts before school. My batch made 16 cupcakes and they were the perfect consistency. I substituted chocolate chips since I didn't have any dried cherries on hand and I substituted 1/4 c agave nectar instead of sugar. I also used applesauce in place of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I love to adapt this recipe to what I have on hand. I used applesauce instead of oil and cranberries instead of cherries. Had to turn the oven down and cook a bit longer so they weren't soggy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Our family loves these so much that I make them once a week for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I love to read the reviews people leave but have never left one. These muffins came out so wonderful I hate to post. I followed the ingredients exactly but don't eat sugar so substituted honey. My hubby and I Love these muffins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Update: Apparently the first time I made these, by a complete fluke, I hit the proportions right. The second time -- ROYAL disaster. I would say that both the zucchini and carrots should be on the med/small side AND the carrot should definitely dictate the amount of zucchini. It can be hard to gauge if these are done even with a fork/toothpick. Mine came out clean, but are complete mush inside. Will continue to play with the recipe, as I know these can be delicious, but had my second experience been my first experience, I would never make these again. Original: Really yummy recipe base, but needs some minor tweaking, as my muffins lost their "bottoms" (!) to the tin despite very adequate greasing. Unlike others, I grated two carrots and then used that amount as the example for how much zucchini to grate (I had to sub some grated apple, as one zucchini was bad inside). Kept all other measurements the same & felt that the ratio of flour was normal. They are beautiful muffins -- look like something from a bakery. Appreciated hint to fill tins, as they do not rise very much. My tins were filled to the very top, but did not overflow (made exactly 12). Could probably reduce sugar to 1/3 cup if satisfied with a less sweet muffin. YUM all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
These are terrific and about as healthy as you can get a muffin and still have it taste good... the oil, salt, & sugar being the negatives, but this makes 12 big hearty muffins, so 1/4 cup oil divided by 12?? I'm not gonna worry, altho I usually use light olive oil... AND, I love the flexiblity of this recipe... subbing dark or white raisuns, prunes, dates, cranberries, nuts... I made without the nuts or coconut and they were still wonderful. I use the old-fashion rolled oats so they add texture, especially if I don't add nuts. I like to shred the carrots very fine so they nearly disappear, no one guesses they're in there. You'll probably get more than 12 muffins if you add all the fruit & nuts... get out 2 pans to be ready. I now double the cinnamon and ginger, both good healthy spices, and sometime I'll add some flax seed and/or bran, added healthiness!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I have been making at loving these muffins for a few months now. Because there are so many ingredients, I find it convenient to alter the amounts to suit my available ingredients -- I substituted a single smallish eggplant for the zucchini in a doubled recipe and it worked great; oat bran or any other flaky grain works instead of oatmeal. I think that the flavor of the cherries and pecans gets lost a bit, so it's not worth the expense to get those fancier ingredients -- walnuts and raisins are cheaper and work just as well, and I don't notice the flavor difference much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States