Hearty Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I have been making at loving these muffins for a few months now. Because there are so many ingredients, I find it convenient to alter the amounts to suit my available ingredients -- I substituted a single smallish eggplant for the zucchini in a doubled recipe and it worked great; oat bran or any other flaky grain works instead of oatmeal. I think that the flavor of the cherries and pecans gets lost a bit, so it's not worth the expense to get those fancier ingredients -- walnuts and raisins are cheaper and work just as well, and I don't notice the flavor difference much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Very good. The only thing I changed was I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil because it seemed like the right idea. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
These are fantastic and healthy! They are perfctly moist and not too sweet. Also, i domt feel bad eating them because they have fruits AND vegetables in them. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used chocolate chips instead of cherries and it worked well with the recipe. Next time I'll try it with cherries also. Both my brother and husband loved them and typically brother hates "healthy" tasting things (aka dry, unsweet, and strange). I will be making these again and again. PERFECT for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
These are great. I substituted apple sauce for the oil, and used egg whites instead of the full egg. I also used chocolate chips instead of the cherries. I will maybe add a bit flour next time as they are quite moist and seem to take longer to bake than suggested. They don't rise much so fill tins to the brim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Snowed in today so tried this recipe and it was fabulous! Only change I made was to substitute coconut oil for the vegetable oil. Very moist. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Great recipe!! Easy to modify with indgredints you have on hand. Love these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Very adaptable to what you have on hand! For me, it was leftover baked whole sweet potatoes that subbed for zucchini, a single-serve container of peach Greek yogurt that had frozen at the back of my fridge, and Craisins for the dried cherries. Also had to sub quick oats for rolled oats. As is customary for me, I also added 1/8 cup each ground flaxseed meal and wheat germ, and subbed natural applesauce for the oil. SO good! When I make these again (and I will!), I will likely increase both the flour and the oats by 1/4 cup each, because they were almost overly moist. Wonderful flavor! I almost left out the ginger, but so glad I didn't - it really made these stand out over others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Loved it! I added macadamia nuts and then the entire muffin tasted like them. Only bad thing about them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I liked these, but it seemed like the time it takes to bake muffins isn't enough to cook carrots properly. They tasted raw to me. Still, I had no problem eating these for breakfast and snacks as long as they lasted. I didn't have any coconut or walnuts, so I left those out; I don't like walnuts but I think the coconut would have improved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Everything CaliforniaGirl said in her review is what I have to say about these muffins. I did everything she did and ended up with the same results. I also have to add that the muffins tasted salty; 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking soda with 1 teaspoon of salt is too much sodium. I tried adding a little more sugar to the second batch, but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cali, Valle Del Cauca, Colombia
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States