Hearty Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
needed to cook this muffin way longer than stated raw in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
My family asked, "What's in these things?" My answer was "Everything!" I used carrots, bananas, pumpkin, apple sauce, coconut, dried blueberries, pecans, chocolate chips, oats, whole wheat flour, eggs, coconut oil, eggs, yogurt, brown sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves, & salt. Whew! I baked in silicone muffin and mini loaf pans filled to the top. Cooling in the silicone made them easier to push out whole. Next time I want to add a streusel topping! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Scates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llmcc
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Tastes like a carrot cake and banana bread combo. I was looking for a recipe to use ripe bananas but wanted something more nutritious than regular banana bread. These muffins even got a thumbs up from an unnamed individual who doesn't like anything too healthy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llmcc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Wow! I made my first batch and they were amazing! I used chopped WALNUTS instead of pecans, and CRANBERRIES instead of dried cherries, and I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Did everything the recipe asked but did not add any nuts. I was very happy with the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Great. No bananas on hand. Used cooked mashed squash. Making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I really like these muffins. I'm sick of cereal for breakfast so was looking for something healthy for a quick morning meal. These were very easy to make and exceeded my expectations, with great texture and only slight sweetness. Much better than store-bought muffins with sugar listed as the number one ingredient. I used dried cranberries and chopped walnuts because I happened to have them on hand. I also used 1 whole egg and two egg whites. While no recipe tweaking is necessary, I may next time use only egg whites and try different fruit and nuts, as suggested. I also enjoy eating them with a slice of nice sharp cheddar cheese. Mission accomplished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krikor
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Used date sugar in place of brown sugar 1:2 ratio Date: Brown. Also used 7-grain flour with whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
These are very moist and tasty without being too sweet. As reviewer Helen did, I substituted a shredded apple for the zucchini which turned out really well. Also, I'm a big fan of flax seed meal because it really helps with hot flashes and it's very nutritious so I substituted 1/4 cup of flax seed meal for the flour. I will definitely make these again. As others noted, you can use lots of different combinations of dried fruits and nuts in place of the cherries and pecans to vary the recipe so it doesn't get boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Lacks flavor. Should have added more spices. Did add vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cresson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States