Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
These are a hit! My kids love getting to eat cookies for breakfast, even though they're healthy. I did sub in some different things to bump up the nutrition factor. I subbed 1/2 c. pumpkin puree for the peanut butter, and 1/2 c. flax seed meal for the wheat germ. I also used the buttermilk instead of water as the author suggested. I only bake them about 16 min. They truly are a breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Good but not great, but probably due more to my changes than to the original recipe. cut the sugar, perhaps too much, and I didn't account for the lack of sugar in my natural peanut butter. also added mini choc. chips and banana. They are good for breakfast and my preschoolers like them (which was the whole point) but the don't satisfy my cookie craving so I think I will try "Beth's Oatmeal Cookies" next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I thought these were excellent. My 3 1/2 year old asked me if he could have cookies for breakfast so I jumped on Allrecipes.com and found this fabulous recipe. So the answer was YES he can have cookies for breakfast! I added chocolate chips instead of the raisins and I also only had 1/2 cup of peanut butter on hand and they still turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Excellent straight from the oven, but dried out quickly. I will add some applesauce or yogurt to the next batch to make a more moist cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Love this recipe! I'm sure it was a great recipe as is, but to bump of the "health factor" a bit I made some substitutions that worked well. I know that drives some people crazy to change a recipe all around, but if it helps to tweak it, WHY NOT!? This way there's a healthier version to play with. Instead of all the butter I only used 1/4 cup of butter and added applesauce. Then I only used 1 cup of brown sugar. When I mixed in all the PB etc. I added one big banana too. I put in 1 and 1/2 cups of raisins because we like them and heated up 1/2 cup apple juice to let the raisins soak in and then I used that "raisin water" in place of the water called for in the recipe. I also added 1/3 cup of ground flax to give it some more good stuff. We eat them in the afternoon for a healthy snack or when we're running out the door on a busy morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Very good--I made them a bit smaller to go better with my "smaller" kids--I ended up with 3 dozen and they were still big!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
These are great. I like to add a mix of dried fruit and nuts--the combination just depends on what's in the cupboard. Today I made them with raisins, dried cranberries, walnuts, and some crystallized ginger. These are satisfying and a slightly healthier coffee snack than a muffin or donut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
These are so good you can't stop eating them. I made them with 2 Tablespoons butter, about 2/3 c. peanut butter, and an overripe banana, and they were moist and chewy (and healthier too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
GREAT recipe. I tweaked it: not a big peanut butter fan, so I used 1/2 cup peanut butter and about 1 cup pumpkin, so I didn't need the extra liquid. I didn't have wheat germ so I added an extra 1/2 cup of finely chopped nuts. I used dried mixed fruit - raisins, dates, pineapple, mango, coconut, cherries, cranberries and apricots. I added about 1 cup of chopped mixed nuts. I also doubled the cinnamon and added about 1/2 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg. I made them slightly smaller and was able to get 17 big cookies out of the recipe; as such, they only baked for about 13 minutes. I would like to play around with this recipe to lower the fat and calories.. the nutrition info is the only drawback to this recipe. Also - I would suggest that as soon as these cookies cool, they should be stored in an airtight container, otherwise they dry out fairly quickly. Other than those drawbacks, this is a DEFINITE keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
After buying the Baker's Breakfast Cookies for sometime, I came across this recipe. Tired of the expense, I decided to try this one. A great alternative at a lower price! I reduce the flour to 3/4 cup of each. They taste a little more moist that way. I don't care for raisins so I leave them out or add in nuts. I also usually add flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States