Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Loved these! I would have liked the cinn./raisins, but to be sure my kids would eat them, I substituted milk chocolate chips as another review mentioned. I will keep these in the freezer for a quick breakfast on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
We love this recipe because it is a great grab n' go breakfast. Have made it exactly as written numerous times and is great but recently tried a couple of variations just for variety. I soaked some craisins in hot water then pureed them before adding them to the mix. My kids don't like raisins/craisins and they didn't know they were in there. Also, I have made them into bar cookies--I spread the dough out in a large cookie sheet (12"x17") then baked as directed. I often add a few choc chips to disguise the ground raisins. thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
For a healthy cookie these are really tasty! I used sea salt for that salty crunch and used 1/2 banana to replace one egg. I also used Sunsweet brands lighter bake as a replacement for the butter in the recipe. I used 1 tsp. maple extract in place of the one tsp of vanilla and also used walnuts instead of raisens. I know this was a lot of changes but it make a light crispy cookie with a walnut/mapley flavor. Inside is soft outside is crunchy. baked them for only 10 minutes on convect, which would be about 13 min reg. bake. Will make these again and again in different combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
My family really liked this recipe. All my children like these and it's easy to make custom variations for each one's idea of what a breakfast cookie ought to be. I put in chocolate chips in part of it for my sweet tooth son, fruit for my fruit loving son, and just plain for my daughter that won't eat breakfast. It works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I love the healthy ingredients but the first batch I made came out very dry. Made these cookies as written except used 1/2 raisins, 1/2 craisins. So I added 1/2 cup of chopped apples to the mix and continued baking-they were great, boys loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is my newest FAVORITE! I started feeding my husband "breakfast" cookies last month... and just this week got around to trying this recipe. Simply Awesome. Only changes: Added nutmeg and upped the cinnamon and I substituted 1 cup dried cranberries for the raisins which I soaked for 10 minutes before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I brought a few to work and receive continual requests for more! Healthy and filling while still tasting like a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I agree that these cookies taste good...but they are in NO way a better alternative to pastries or doughnuts! They are good, just don't think they are a healthy option. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Love these cookies! I had been looking for an alternative to purchased breakfast cookies (which I love). So I tried these, this is the 2nd time I've made them. This time I substituted a container of plain lowfat yogurt for the butter (last time I tried applesauce and they were too dry). I also baked them a little less so they would stay a bit moister. Added extra raisins and chocolate chips, and a little handful of coconut. They are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Yes, I changed this up a bit. But, they were delicious! And, in spite of my forgetting to add the water, they still came out perfectly, I don't think I'll add it the next time I make them. I followed the others advice--substituted 1/2 cup of honey for 1/2 of the brown sugar (this will also keep them a bit softer over the next couple of days) and I changed the raisins for chocolate chips, since only one of my three kids likes raisins. I didn't have wheat germ, so I just didn't worry about it. Plus, I like the idea of substituting some rice krispies for 1 cup of the oatmeal, so we did that. Yummy! My 4-year-old is polishing off hers right now, and I really enjoyed one with coffee. Oh, and I came up with 30 cookies, which is good for us since I don't like to have so many calories in one serving. (I think the original recipe assumes 2 cookies per serving, which may be fine for my tween boys who can consume many calories and still be thin as rails, but not for me or my hubby!) Try em, and don't be afraid to mix them up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States