Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
My family really liked this recipe. All my children like these and it's easy to make custom variations for each one's idea of what a breakfast cookie ought to be. I put in chocolate chips in part of it for my sweet tooth son, fruit for my fruit loving son, and just plain for my daughter that won't eat breakfast. It works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I love the healthy ingredients but the first batch I made came out very dry. Made these cookies as written except used 1/2 raisins, 1/2 craisins. So I added 1/2 cup of chopped apples to the mix and continued baking-they were great, boys loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is my newest FAVORITE! I started feeding my husband "breakfast" cookies last month... and just this week got around to trying this recipe. Simply Awesome. Only changes: Added nutmeg and upped the cinnamon and I substituted 1 cup dried cranberries for the raisins which I soaked for 10 minutes before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I brought a few to work and receive continual requests for more! Healthy and filling while still tasting like a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I agree that these cookies taste good...but they are in NO way a better alternative to pastries or doughnuts! They are good, just don't think they are a healthy option. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Love these cookies! I had been looking for an alternative to purchased breakfast cookies (which I love). So I tried these, this is the 2nd time I've made them. This time I substituted a container of plain lowfat yogurt for the butter (last time I tried applesauce and they were too dry). I also baked them a little less so they would stay a bit moister. Added extra raisins and chocolate chips, and a little handful of coconut. They are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Yes, I changed this up a bit. But, they were delicious! And, in spite of my forgetting to add the water, they still came out perfectly, I don't think I'll add it the next time I make them. I followed the others advice--substituted 1/2 cup of honey for 1/2 of the brown sugar (this will also keep them a bit softer over the next couple of days) and I changed the raisins for chocolate chips, since only one of my three kids likes raisins. I didn't have wheat germ, so I just didn't worry about it. Plus, I like the idea of substituting some rice krispies for 1 cup of the oatmeal, so we did that. Yummy! My 4-year-old is polishing off hers right now, and I really enjoyed one with coffee. Oh, and I came up with 30 cookies, which is good for us since I don't like to have so many calories in one serving. (I think the original recipe assumes 2 cookies per serving, which may be fine for my tween boys who can consume many calories and still be thin as rails, but not for me or my hubby!) Try em, and don't be afraid to mix them up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
My husband loves to take breakfast to work vs. eating it at home because he gets up so early so I try to get creative. These "cookies" are great. They came out very moist and freeze well. Like others, I modified the recipe a bit. I cut the recipe in half and used 1/2 c. of brown sugar and 2 Tbsp. of honey. I used whole milk vs. water and 1 c. of all purpose flour. I also used 3/4 c. of oats and 1/2 c. of grape nuts instead of wheat germ. I also added 1/2 c. of chopped peanuts along with the raisins. They baked up very nice and smelled great coming out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My husband has high cholesterol so I had to tinker with this recipe to suit his needs. I used smart balance oil and applesauce instead of butter. I used egg substitute instead of eggs. I also used Smucker's organic peanut butter which is lower in sat fat. Husband doesn't like raisins, I used 1 cup of walnuts instead. Oh and instead of wheat germ we used milled flaxseed which is very high in omega 3. Cookies turned out flavorful and filling. Thank you for the basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Great and filling breakfast cookie! I did use buttermilk instead of the water. I also used half raisins and half chopped dates. Because of what I had in my pantry - I used half peanut butter and half sunflower seed butter. I also ran out of oatmeal and only used 3 cups. Both not by choice....but the cookies came out great anyway!!!!! Thanks a bunch!!! I look forward to also crumbling a couple of these cookies in a bowl of vanilla yogurt, as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States