Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great Breakfasty cookie! I used the recipe as written, ONLY switching the mix-ins. The texture is great and the flavor is super delicious and healthy. It tastes more "health food" than "cookie." It is not as sweet as a traditional cookie - I didn't feel guilty eating them for breakfast with a yogurt! I used a whole bag of cranberries, 1/4 cup of flax seed and about 1/2 cup of pecans. I did consider the wheat germ a mix-in and switched that to GrapeNuts cereal. OO might I suggest chunky peanutbutter for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We love these cookies.. My kids sometimes don't grab breakfast before school.. but if they can grab a cookie then they are allset to go..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I think I may have over baked these, because they came out quite dry and dense. The taste is okay (probably would be better if I had had the ingredients recommended). I used sunbutter instead of peanut butter and half applesauce and SmartBalance margarine, and flaxseed with wheat germ because those are the items I had on hand. What's really turning me off is that the insides of these cookies are positively GREEN instead of brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
FANTASTIC! I go to sleep excited knowing I get to eat this for breakfast, now how bad is that! I substituted applesauce instead of butter and did not miss the butter - that also made them a little more soft. Off to the freezer they went. Instead of egg, I also did a "flaxseed" egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I've been making these for years ... don't know when they were posted, but it seems like years. Tonight I made them with dark brown sugar, substituted ground flax seed for wheat germ, and added a cup of toasted chopped pecans and almost a cup of mini chocolate chips. Baked for 12 minutes at 325 on full convection, and they are awesome. I go back to these again and again when I want something with protein in the cookie jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Unfortunately, these did not go over well in my house. They were dry, and I even added the banana like some suggested. Using a measured scoop, mine only made about 20, so maybe they had to bake longer since they were bigger, therefore drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Yum! I was looking for a healthier cookie to have on hand. This is it: delicious, satisfying, hearty and more nutritious than the usual (albeit tasty) blobs of butter and sugar. What's more, my teenagers like these hearties! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Janet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
OH, YUM! I made these with2C whole wheat pastry flour, 1/4 C apple sauce and 1/4 C butter, and instead of rolled oats, I used rolled 5 grain cereal from the bulk foods section of my grocery store (rye, barley, wheat, oats) and pulsed them in the Cuisenart before adding. Other than those modifications, I followed the recipe and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I added about 1/2 cup of applesauce to this and bake it in a 7 x 11 pan; then cut it into bars when it was cool. Very mosit and peanuty too. I also used crunchy peanut butter---that's all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
My gosh did these cookies turn out great! Wonderful recipe. The only change I made was substituting a cup of mini choco chips for one cup of the raisins. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly! Super healthy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kiel, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States