Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Excellent cookie! Exactly as described! Tasty, hearty and very easy. A very flexible recipe, we made it as is except we left out salt (always do) and reduced sugar to 1/2 cup. Next time we will add different fruit, seeds or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Ehh. My son will eat them if he's really hungry after school but mostly they are just taking up space in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These were great. Everyone at work loved them. I used only whole wheat flour and used flax meal instead of wheat germ. Also reduced the sugar by 1/4. They are great warmed in the microwave and really kept me full until lunchtime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Being a new mom doesn't always allow for extravagant meals…or meals at all for that matter. So I wanted to find something quick and easy, but healthy as well. This recipe was just that, but I put my own "healthy" alternatives to test when baking up these treats. To significantly cut down on the fats and sugars I substituted two 4oz jars of apple and blueberry baby food for all of the butter, Splenda brown sugar for the packed brown sugar, and gluten free Redmill oat flour for both the wheat and white flour. Also, I didn't have wheat germ handy so I used whole flax seeds instead. I got creative with some slivered almonds and walnuts to add in some omega 3's. These turned out fabulous and are a super healthy breakfast option or quick snack to keep me powered through the day. Next time I'll try adding in a scoop or two of protein powder to take it to the next level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I love this cookie! I've added applesauce and honey instead of the brown sugar but I need it gluten free. Got any ideas on how to do that? What would you replace the wheat germ with?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I have three boys in school and this is the perfect healthy breakfast treat that they love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I have never written a review before but have to say that these are a new favorite recipe. My husband is never hungry when he leaves for work, but wants to eat when he gets there, so this gives us a healthy, delicious, portable breakfast for him to take with him. The recipe is easily altered to suit your tastes; I like to mix up the fruit (i.e. 1 heaping cup chopped dates, figs, dried cherries) and can't wait to try it with apricots. Also great with a handful of chopped nuts thrown in. We'll use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I have just made these cookies and they have cooled down enough for a taste test. I must say that, although I tweaked them to my own taste, they came out especially good. I admit that I ‘borrowed ‘ideas from other reviewers, but I and M’Lady liked the finished product. Here are the changed I made: I used ½ applesauce for ½ the butter, I cup of brown sugar and about 1/3 cup honey, buttermilk for the liquid, ground flaxseed for the wheat germ, ½ cup of raisins and ¾ cup of chocolate chips. I think I might try adding about 1 cup of chopped walnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Juneau, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
These lasted about 24 hours in my house. We all loved them. I used all natural peanut butter (the kind you have to stir) because its all that was in the house and I only baked them for 12 minutes instead of the suggested 20 minutes. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and everyone from our one-year-old to my husband thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
These are a staple in our freezer. My kids get up and microwave one for 30 seconds, and breakfast is served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States