Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
These are great. I like to add a mix of dried fruit and nuts--the combination just depends on what's in the cupboard. Today I made them with raisins, dried cranberries, walnuts, and some crystallized ginger. These are satisfying and a slightly healthier coffee snack than a muffin or donut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
These are so good you can't stop eating them. I made them with 2 Tablespoons butter, about 2/3 c. peanut butter, and an overripe banana, and they were moist and chewy (and healthier too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
GREAT recipe. I tweaked it: not a big peanut butter fan, so I used 1/2 cup peanut butter and about 1 cup pumpkin, so I didn't need the extra liquid. I didn't have wheat germ so I added an extra 1/2 cup of finely chopped nuts. I used dried mixed fruit - raisins, dates, pineapple, mango, coconut, cherries, cranberries and apricots. I added about 1 cup of chopped mixed nuts. I also doubled the cinnamon and added about 1/2 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg. I made them slightly smaller and was able to get 17 big cookies out of the recipe; as such, they only baked for about 13 minutes. I would like to play around with this recipe to lower the fat and calories.. the nutrition info is the only drawback to this recipe. Also - I would suggest that as soon as these cookies cool, they should be stored in an airtight container, otherwise they dry out fairly quickly. Other than those drawbacks, this is a DEFINITE keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
After buying the Baker's Breakfast Cookies for sometime, I came across this recipe. Tired of the expense, I decided to try this one. A great alternative at a lower price! I reduce the flour to 3/4 cup of each. They taste a little more moist that way. I don't care for raisins so I leave them out or add in nuts. I also usually add flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
These are yummy. I did make a couple pf additions. I added 1/3c of flax seeds and unsalted peanuts. Also used 1 1/2c of whole wheat flour and 1/2c of white. They were good out of the oven but much better then next morning. I sent some with my boyfriend on his business trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Awesome! My kids love these. I replaced raisins with chocolate chips and wheat germ with flax seed meal. Great snacks for hungry 13 year old boys, really filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texasglori
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I'm wiping my hands off right now, after eating my second cookie! Had one straight out of the oven last night and actually liked it better this morning. Cooked for 15 minutes, used mixed dried fruit instead of just raisins (cherries, blueberries, raisins, raspberries). YUM! Can't wait to serve these at my brunch in 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
AMAZING!! I stumbled across during one of my healthy eating bouts and they have stuck!! I love these, sometimes I tweak them by doubling the cinn. to two tsp. and leaving out the raisins and finally sprinkling a little cinn. on top. They are great for on the go or throwing them in the mircowave for 15 secs to have with my morning tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
These cookies are true to their name. I am a peanut butter lover, and they satisfied me! They come out pretty moist, and are a great cookie for Breakfast or as a protein packed snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Oh yeah! These are just what I was looking for! I needed a warm and healthy breakfast for my girls and this is perfect. As others suggested, I only baked them for 15 minutes and I didn't flatten them very much. The inside is soft, warm and just perfect. I also added a 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips and decreased the raisins to 1/4 cup. These are really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVETOCOOK10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States