Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I love these cookies, they're not very sweet and they're good for breakfast or snack. Don't let the calorie section scare you, I made 27 cookies from one recipe and I used my ice cream scoop and when I measured how much dough the scoop holds it's 1/4 cup (that would make one serving 2 cookies plus like a bite of another cookie, one fills me up just fine). BUT I make mine healthier and it's moist and holds together well and has to be less calories. Here's what I did...no butter, add 1 c applesauce (unsweetened), used 1/2 c honey and 1/2 c brown sugar (in place of all the brown sugar), I also used all whole wheat flour and craisins (instead of raisins) - it's sooo good. If you like a heartier cookie I'd use rolled oats, quick oats make a softer cookie - both are yummy. If you like crunch in your cookies I think sunflower seeds would be great in them. They also freeze well, plus I've made them with soy butter for an allergic child, it's a little drier but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I really like this recipe. My son hates to eat breakfast and since he started school he really needed to have something before he left. These cookies have a lot of nutrition and compared to things like Nutri-Grain bars are very healthy. I substitued chocolate chips for the raisins just to make them more appealing to my family and used natural peanut butter. I love that this recipe does not call for any white sugar. You won't miss it! They are great and just what we needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
These cookies were a bit dry, I will try using some applesauce like another person suggested. I may even throw in some yogurt to moisten them up. None the less everyone enjoyed them. My 2 1/2 year old couldn't get enough of them and was sure pleased to be able to eat them for breakfast and a night snack. Will definately make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
These are a hit! My kids love getting to eat cookies for breakfast, even though they're healthy. I did sub in some different things to bump up the nutrition factor. I subbed 1/2 c. pumpkin puree for the peanut butter, and 1/2 c. flax seed meal for the wheat germ. I also used the buttermilk instead of water as the author suggested. I only bake them about 16 min. They truly are a breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Good but not great, but probably due more to my changes than to the original recipe. cut the sugar, perhaps too much, and I didn't account for the lack of sugar in my natural peanut butter. also added mini choc. chips and banana. They are good for breakfast and my preschoolers like them (which was the whole point) but the don't satisfy my cookie craving so I think I will try "Beth's Oatmeal Cookies" next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I thought these were excellent. My 3 1/2 year old asked me if he could have cookies for breakfast so I jumped on Allrecipes.com and found this fabulous recipe. So the answer was YES he can have cookies for breakfast! I added chocolate chips instead of the raisins and I also only had 1/2 cup of peanut butter on hand and they still turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Excellent straight from the oven, but dried out quickly. I will add some applesauce or yogurt to the next batch to make a more moist cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Love this recipe! I'm sure it was a great recipe as is, but to bump of the "health factor" a bit I made some substitutions that worked well. I know that drives some people crazy to change a recipe all around, but if it helps to tweak it, WHY NOT!? This way there's a healthier version to play with. Instead of all the butter I only used 1/4 cup of butter and added applesauce. Then I only used 1 cup of brown sugar. When I mixed in all the PB etc. I added one big banana too. I put in 1 and 1/2 cups of raisins because we like them and heated up 1/2 cup apple juice to let the raisins soak in and then I used that "raisin water" in place of the water called for in the recipe. I also added 1/3 cup of ground flax to give it some more good stuff. We eat them in the afternoon for a healthy snack or when we're running out the door on a busy morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Very good--I made them a bit smaller to go better with my "smaller" kids--I ended up with 3 dozen and they were still big!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
These are great. I like to add a mix of dried fruit and nuts--the combination just depends on what's in the cupboard. Today I made them with raisins, dried cranberries, walnuts, and some crystallized ginger. These are satisfying and a slightly healthier coffee snack than a muffin or donut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States