Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
very good, my kids like the quaker breakfast cookie and I needed somthing similar..they are a bit on the hard side I may need to play around and see how to make them a bit softer but they do the trick in the a.m.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb McLaud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
My son really liked these. They filled him up so he didn't get hungry at school before lunch. I added some chocolate chips too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I used flax seed instead of wheat germ, and milk in place of the water cause that's what I had. I baked them for 15 minutes and that was enough. Next time I'll use 1/2 more dried fruit and might add nuts. Very good breakfast cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I made these for a teacher breakfast and they went over very well. I felt that they were a little dry, but with coffee they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSTARALYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I just made these. These are great! The kids loved them and I love that they are quick and easy to make. I only had 1/2 of the brown sugar so I added 1/2 a cup of butterscotch chips to the batter. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Unbelievably Wonderful! I followed the suggestions of cutting back a little of the brown sugar & butter & using a banana & apple sauce. I also soaked my raisins in apple juice. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
These are so good and my family eats them so well that I have to make a batch of them each week. I bake one or two cookies sheets of them and then make 'cookie logs' in waxed paper to store in the fridge/freezer. I take them out and cut off cookies to bake anytime. I alter the recipe each time I make them, but this is an excellent recipe and I get requests for it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Loved these! I would have liked the cinn./raisins, but to be sure my kids would eat them, I substituted milk chocolate chips as another review mentioned. I will keep these in the freezer for a quick breakfast on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
We love this recipe because it is a great grab n' go breakfast. Have made it exactly as written numerous times and is great but recently tried a couple of variations just for variety. I soaked some craisins in hot water then pureed them before adding them to the mix. My kids don't like raisins/craisins and they didn't know they were in there. Also, I have made them into bar cookies--I spread the dough out in a large cookie sheet (12"x17") then baked as directed. I often add a few choc chips to disguise the ground raisins. thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
For a healthy cookie these are really tasty! I used sea salt for that salty crunch and used 1/2 banana to replace one egg. I also used Sunsweet brands lighter bake as a replacement for the butter in the recipe. I used 1 tsp. maple extract in place of the one tsp of vanilla and also used walnuts instead of raisens. I know this was a lot of changes but it make a light crispy cookie with a walnut/mapley flavor. Inside is soft outside is crunchy. baked them for only 10 minutes on convect, which would be about 13 min reg. bake. Will make these again and again in different combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States