Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Yes, I changed this up a bit. But, they were delicious! And, in spite of my forgetting to add the water, they still came out perfectly, I don't think I'll add it the next time I make them. I followed the others advice--substituted 1/2 cup of honey for 1/2 of the brown sugar (this will also keep them a bit softer over the next couple of days) and I changed the raisins for chocolate chips, since only one of my three kids likes raisins. I didn't have wheat germ, so I just didn't worry about it. Plus, I like the idea of substituting some rice krispies for 1 cup of the oatmeal, so we did that. Yummy! My 4-year-old is polishing off hers right now, and I really enjoyed one with coffee. Oh, and I came up with 30 cookies, which is good for us since I don't like to have so many calories in one serving. (I think the original recipe assumes 2 cookies per serving, which may be fine for my tween boys who can consume many calories and still be thin as rails, but not for me or my hubby!) Try em, and don't be afraid to mix them up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
My husband loves to take breakfast to work vs. eating it at home because he gets up so early so I try to get creative. These "cookies" are great. They came out very moist and freeze well. Like others, I modified the recipe a bit. I cut the recipe in half and used 1/2 c. of brown sugar and 2 Tbsp. of honey. I used whole milk vs. water and 1 c. of all purpose flour. I also used 3/4 c. of oats and 1/2 c. of grape nuts instead of wheat germ. I also added 1/2 c. of chopped peanuts along with the raisins. They baked up very nice and smelled great coming out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My husband has high cholesterol so I had to tinker with this recipe to suit his needs. I used smart balance oil and applesauce instead of butter. I used egg substitute instead of eggs. I also used Smucker's organic peanut butter which is lower in sat fat. Husband doesn't like raisins, I used 1 cup of walnuts instead. Oh and instead of wheat germ we used milled flaxseed which is very high in omega 3. Cookies turned out flavorful and filling. Thank you for the basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Great and filling breakfast cookie! I did use buttermilk instead of the water. I also used half raisins and half chopped dates. Because of what I had in my pantry - I used half peanut butter and half sunflower seed butter. I also ran out of oatmeal and only used 3 cups. Both not by choice....but the cookies came out great anyway!!!!! Thanks a bunch!!! I look forward to also crumbling a couple of these cookies in a bowl of vanilla yogurt, as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Really pretty good. I made two changes...instead of wheat germ I added whey protein powder and instead of 1cup raisins I chopped up a granny smith apple into little pieces which was about 3/4cup and topped off with raisins. I might form them into more of a bar next time and not call them cookies...they don't earn the name cookie but are definately a satisfying healthy snack and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
These cookies are THE best. I make them as the recipe reads except use chocolate chips instead of raisins. It makes up 24 good sized cookies. My toddler, kids, husband and parents love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Yum! Filling, and it tastes more 'breakfast' than 'cookie', and that's exactly what I've been looking for. Due to lack of resources, I had to make a few substitutions. I used white instead of wheat flour, flax seed instead of wheat germ, and honey for half of the brown sugar. I also used a combination of half dates and half walnuts instead of raisins, and I soaked the chopped dates in hot coffee beforehand. I drained the coffee and used it instead of water. Next time I'd add more dates. I look forward to trying the ginger-candy-and-sesame combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I've tried this a few different ways and liked them all, but this was my kids favorite: Use 1/4 C applesauce and 1/4 C butter, 1 C oats and 1C rice crispies, in place of brown sugar I used splenda brown sugar blend. Instead of raisins, I used choc/peanut butter swirl chips. They turned out very soft and my kids and the neighbors kids devoured them! (also try pumpkin version with pumpkin pie spice, yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Great cookies! My daughters didn't care for them, but I loved them! In my opinion they taste better a day or two later though. I didn't add raisins, but did add M&M's instead.. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I love these cookies. I made them and brought them to work the next day and they were all gone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States