Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
FANTASTIC! I go to sleep excited knowing I get to eat this for breakfast, now how bad is that! I substituted applesauce instead of butter and did not miss the butter - that also made them a little more soft. Off to the freezer they went. Instead of egg, I also did a "flaxseed" egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I've been making these for years ... don't know when they were posted, but it seems like years. Tonight I made them with dark brown sugar, substituted ground flax seed for wheat germ, and added a cup of toasted chopped pecans and almost a cup of mini chocolate chips. Baked for 12 minutes at 325 on full convection, and they are awesome. I go back to these again and again when I want something with protein in the cookie jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Unfortunately, these did not go over well in my house. They were dry, and I even added the banana like some suggested. Using a measured scoop, mine only made about 20, so maybe they had to bake longer since they were bigger, therefore drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Yum! I was looking for a healthier cookie to have on hand. This is it: delicious, satisfying, hearty and more nutritious than the usual (albeit tasty) blobs of butter and sugar. What's more, my teenagers like these hearties! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Janet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
OH, YUM! I made these with2C whole wheat pastry flour, 1/4 C apple sauce and 1/4 C butter, and instead of rolled oats, I used rolled 5 grain cereal from the bulk foods section of my grocery store (rye, barley, wheat, oats) and pulsed them in the Cuisenart before adding. Other than those modifications, I followed the recipe and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I added about 1/2 cup of applesauce to this and bake it in a 7 x 11 pan; then cut it into bars when it was cool. Very mosit and peanuty too. I also used crunchy peanut butter---that's all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
My gosh did these cookies turn out great! Wonderful recipe. The only change I made was substituting a cup of mini choco chips for one cup of the raisins. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly! Super healthy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kiel, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I just loved these cookies. Al little too much. Yum! I made them exactly the way it said, except chocolate chips instead of raisins. great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCLENTINE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Yummy! My husband and daughter both love them. I put some in the freezer to pack in the diaper bag (she's 19 months). It will be thawed by the time she's ready to eat it. I might reduce the sugar to just 1 cup next time... I think they'd still be wonderful. Taste like oatmeal breakfast squares, only better. Thanks Janet!! I'll be making these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew's Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
We don't actually eat these for breakfast, but they are a great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States