Hearty Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I made this with some changes and it turned out okay. I did what some other reviewers did and added an envelope of brown gravy mix as well as half a can of cream of mushroom soup because I needed to use it up. The stew turned out kind of sweet tasting- I don't know if that was from the gravy mix, the carrots or the teriyaki sauce, but next time I'll make this exactly as written minus the teriyaki sauce and add the carrots closer to the end. My favorite pot roast recipe is simply meat, veggies, a can of soup, a can of water and some onion soup mix, so I may try that combination here since it seems to be a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I tried this recipe and found it to be excellent. From now on this is the only recipe I will use for beef stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Excellent beef stew! All I had to do was thicken it up with flour & water before I served it and it was perfect! Served it with fresh Italian bread. My mother-in-law loved it.... took all the leftovers home! But I will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Made this quick. Was a great recipe. I omitted the mushrooms and added some stewed tomatoes...was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I absolutely loved this recipe! I doubled it, added a lot more potatoes, and threw in an envelope of dry brown gravy mix for more flavor. I also left out the teriyaki sauce. Everyone loved it! I will definitely make this again, and maybe try a different kind of meat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I absolutely loved this recipe!!! It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
plenty of great reviews so I tried it and love it...If you think it has too much paprika...cut down or out. If you dont like it a simple breakdown would be fine not a novel of insults
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
It was very tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Sorry to say this beef stew was okay, but not sensational. I look for recipes that are Easy (it was) and Extremely Tasty (it was average). If it passes the E.E.T. test, it's a keeper. It was not a melt-in-your-mouth crave-some-more kind of recipe. And I didn't think the smell was that great either. I made the recipe EXACTLY like the directions said. Where are you other members that feel the same but aren't bothering to rate this recipe???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMTRINA
Home Town: Ripley, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Excellent recipe & very easy to make. I added more potatoes & lots of green beans & omited the mushrooms. I also substituted a can of tomatoe sauce for the beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Young Harris, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States