Hearty Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Very tasty stew! I made this in the crock pot with a 2 1/2 lb bottom roast that was frozen solid when I put it in. I doubled all the ingredients because my roast was so big. I cooked it for 5 hours on high- took the roast out and cut it into chunks and added it back to the crock pot on low for another 2 hours. I added some cornstarch and water to thicken it a little at the very end. Although I'm not a huge fan of beef stew (my husband is!) this was pretty tasty and VERY easy. Thanks for helping me get over my stew aversion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This is excellent!! I don't know why it only has 4 stars... I made a few changes however: I didn't use any celery but chopped up two potatoes into big pieces instead. Also, I used beef round steak b/c I had it on hand. BUT, I would actually do it again - since the round steak was a bit thin and already tenderized, little pieces of it "floated off" while cooking so every bite of the stew had beef in it. There were, of course, still big chunks throughout. Some people complained of a "sweet, funny taste" - I thought it tasted perfect. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and it was perfect. Trust the recipe, don't change anything except any vegetables you might like to take out or add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This was so easy to make! I threw everthing in the crock pot just before bed, and in the morning it was ready to pack for my lunch. I thawed out some Rhodes yeast rolls overnight and baked them while I was getting ready for work in the morning. Perfect meal for a fall day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This is an excellent stew recipe! I followed the original directions exactly, then I added 1/2 cup of barley, 5 more oz. of beef broth, and 1.5 cup water. I cooked it on low for almost 8 hours. Then about an hour from when we were ready to eat, I added a 1/2 cup of frozen peas, and a 1/2 cup frozen corn. We made homemade bread, and between the smell of the stew and the bread the aroma was delectable! The consistency came out just about perfect but only because I added more water/beef broth due to the barley. Will make this again, and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
The family loved it. Very tasty and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I came home for lunch yesterday afternoon and threw this in the crockpot and set on high. I used 1 1/2#s beef and put 1/2 cup flour with 1/2 tbsp paprika and used worcestershire sauce like some people suggested. I called my husband and told him to turn it off after it had cooked on high for 5 hours. When I got home my husband and daughter had almost polished off the whole crockpot. They said they really liked it. I did manage to get a bowl and there was only 1 bowl for leftovers today. This was a very easy recipe and very good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Excellent! I used Worcestershire Sauce instead of Tereyaki. I also put in 1 Teaspoon of Celery Seed Seasoning instead of one celery stalk (that way I didn't have to throw the celery away!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Very nice stew that hubby really loved. I floured and browned my meat first, added more seasonings, a can of golden mushroom soup, leftover mixed vegies and a can of diced tomatoes. Worst. sauce and a bit of gravy master helped intensify the flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This was excellent and easy! I omitted the paprika, used 4 cups of beef broth, and added a package of onion dry soup mix. I added more broth because the 2 cups that it called for did not seem to cover the stew enough to where it would cook completely. Next time I will add another stalk of celery and maybe one more potato. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States