Hearty Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
good! i used 2 1/2 cups of beef broth and it came out too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I followed the direction, omitting only the paprika and bay leaf. This was delicious! The perfect meal that cooks itself - Thank you! My family will be eating this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I doubled the recipe and there was too much liquid. I took another posters suggestion and added sour creme to thicken it up. I also added the Worchestershire sauce since there didn't seem to be much flavor. I agree that after 6 hours of cooking (half of it on high) the potatoes were not done enough - and I cut them up small. I would also either leave out the paprika next time or put in a lot less. It was a good recipe to start with, but needs a few enhancements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Ok recipe for a base but I had to tweak it to make it work. Marinated the beef in the teriyaki sauce over night and omited the paprika. Added an extra potato to bulk it out for starters. Cooked it on high for 10 hours for the potatoes to get soft enough. WAY too much liquid in the recipe. Allrecipes.com got it wrong to adjust the liquid content, this is a stew after all not a soup. Seeing as I had too much liquid I blended 1/2 cup sour cream with 1 heaping tablespoon of flour. Tempered the cream mixture with some of the hot liquid then mixed it all together; which thickened it up to stew quality quite nicely. I also took other raters advice and added some peas near the end. A good recipe to start with but definately needs some help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUINNY2706

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I only rated this 4 out of 5 because it took a lot longer than 8 hrs on low to cook the potatoes. Nothing spectacular to this one compared to what I make on top of the stove, so I will stick to my old recipe. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Beware of doubling the recipe and not the time cooked. I found that after the 8 hours in the crock pot even after I changed it to high at the 1/2 way point it still wasn't ready. However I put in a regular pot the next day and cooked for 2 hours and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bellmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Good, solid beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was a very good stew. I followed the recipe exactaly. I did add some more salt pepper and a few dashes of worstishire sauce. The flavor was very rich and it was satisfying on a cold Indiana evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Bland, we put too much in the crock pot and that didnt go so well. Overall it was just ok. I might make it again on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Cornick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States